Skip to content
December 9, 2013 / Zoe

Dear Juniper – 3 Months

Dear Juniper,

3 months

Now you are now, right this minute, three months old. It’s a pleasure and a privilege to watch you learn and grow, and it’s hard to believe you’ve only been here 3 short, but long, months. We thought you were a delight at 2 months, but the last month has seen you develop your sweet personality even more. You are so sweet, demanding, determined and, as I’m sure I’ve said before, feisty!

This month you started to recognise your Dad as a familiar and trusted person. When he gets home your face brightens and you love to chat to him about what you’ve been up to. You earnestly ooooh and aaaah at him, grinning when he responds to you. I enjoy watching these interactions almost more than when you chat to me in the same way. You are so close to rolling over from back to front, you might even do it tonight, after this post has been drafted for your birth minute.

This week you discovered how to use your hands. You knew they were there before, but now you know how to make them do things! Some of the time, anyway. You bat the mushroom on your bouncy chair, grinning as it makes the owl swing. You’ve also worked out how to use them to shove things in your gob. Everything you grasp onto gets a good dose of slobber, including toys, our hands, clothes and a leaf. I know this is just the beginning, I’m sure I’ll be fishing things out of your mouth for a long time to come. I just hope you don’t take after your Auntie Lucie, she once ate a snail and your poor Granny had to scoop it out.

Your favourite place to sleep is where you are as I type this, with your face against my chest or over my shoulder, your body stretched down mine, your teeny toes resting on my thigh. Sometimes I wrangle you into a wrap so I can have two hands to type while you sleep, but sometimes, well, most of the time, I just breathe you in. I know this time is fleeting, so I savour every moment.

Your 4th month might see your Mumma a little frazzled, but I think that you will be my saving grace. You see, you, me, your Dad, and your 3 fur-sisters are moving! We’re moving so far away, to Canberra from Perth, and I’m feeling overwhelmed by the amount of packing and planning that has to be done. We might not leave until after your 4th month birthday, but so much has to be done before then. The good thing is that it will be a new start for our little family. Your Dad won’t have to work 7 days a week, he’ll be home with us every weekend. We’ll get to explore a new area, make new friends, and settle into a nice routine. So I’m sorry if the house is a disaster, that we’ll have to temporarily stay in strange places, and if I’m grumpy or stressed. I promise I’ll never take it out on you, and it really is for the better.

I hope you’re ready for our next adventure, my love, it’s going to both exciting and scary!

Love, Mumma.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Allison Reilly / Dec 24 2013 8:06 am

    she’s so adorable! you sound like you were made to be a mommy

    • Zoe / Jan 4 2014 7:17 am

      Thank you!

  2. Flamingo Dancer / Dec 10 2013 5:02 pm

    So very, very gorgeous!

    • Zoe / Dec 12 2013 5:59 pm

      Thank you! I think so, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

