Skip to content
December 2, 2013 / Zoe

June’s Granny

My Mum went home last week. She lives on the other side of the country, so we were so lucky that she was able to stay with us for 11 weeks! In the first few weeks, when June wasn’t feeding well and I wasn’t healing well, it was Mum who kept the house going. Matt is totally hands on with Juniper, in the first few weeks at home he did most of the feeding while I expressed milk for the next feed, so we were equally exhausted. Mum wasn’t here to help with June, she was here to help with me, and that’s exactly what you need when you have a baby. She wasn’t here to change nappies or give baths or give me advice on how to be a mother, she just provided us with support to keep things afloat. Clean dishes appeared when we needed them, loads of washing appeared on the washing line, healthy food materialised in front of me, and when I was at my lowest points and needed to cry, she was there to rub my back or hold the baby so I could go and cry in the shower.

IMG_8050

After we were settled she was just here for a holiday, with the perk of hanging out with her granddaughter! I’m not sure she’s ever been on a real holiday before, and I think she needed the time away from ‘real life,’ as much as I needed her here. She took over my sewing room, putting it to better use than I had for months, churning out wonderful outfits for June. Once I have the time I’ll teach myself to also sew baby clothes and I hope that we can sell things together at a market one day.

IMG_0141

I really admire my Mum, I hope that I can follow her example as a mother. She knows when to be a mother, and when to be a friend. She knows when to let her children go, and when to give advice. She’s creative, empathetic, intelligent and kind.

702363_929354187085355_75318209_n

I think that one day we will have a granny flat in the bottom of the garden, a little place perfect for June’s Granny.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. sukiesoriginal / Dec 3 2013 12:21 pm

    The granny flat is in writing now…

Leave a Reply

