Skip to content
April 1, 2013 / Zoe

16 Weeks.

It’s funny how every week it feels like such a long time, and suddenly the week before feels so tiny. This week I can’t believe I thought 15 weeks was exciting, and I’m sure I’ll feel the same way next week, and so on until I pop. And then it will start going in the other direction and I’ll find myself saying, I can’t believe I thought this baby was old at one week, now it’s one month/year/going to university/where is the time going/make it stop.

An exciting milestone for this week was the beginning of some little flutters! I’m not 100% sure that what I’m feeling is the baby, but I can’t imagine what else it could be. It’s a fluttering/vibrating in the same spot, and I can only feel it when I sit a certain way. I guess I’ll know for sure when it gets stronger!

This week was another rough week. I was less constantly nauseous, but still had some really bad days. And the last few days have been full of mega-heartburn. I didn’t think that started until the baby was pressing on your stomach! I’ve also had a lot of headaches, which I think is from stress. Yes, stress, it’s getting bad. I know I need to manage my anxiety now more than ever, but everything is getting away from me. Uni work and house work just feel so hard and I don’t know how to push through it when I feel so exhausted.

Homesickness was another theme for the week. My Grandad had a heart attack last week, and while it looks like he’s going ok at the moment, it’s still scary and I want to see him. I live over 3000km from all of my family, and it’s hard sometimes. I suspect this whole year will be hard in that respect, there’s something about being pregnant that makes you desperately want to be with your Mum – or maybe that’s just me. I should be able to go home for a visit at the end of next month, so I can’t wait for that. It’ll be the last time I see my family before I start my own new family.

I’m sorry for the lack of cheery crafty/cat posts. I keep meaning to post more during the week, but if I’m going to sit down and write it should be about my assignments, not kittens. On that note, I should get some work done snuggle up with Daisy and watch some mindless TV.

We decided to delay Easter until next week because we’re broke and chocolate will be on sale this week. Also, I mostly eat toast and crackers these days, and chocolate is kind of gross. I hope your chocolate wasn’t gross and you had a wonderful weekend!

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Catherine Rodie Blagg / Apr 4 2013 7:41 am

    Oh morning sickness is the worst! Hope you start feeling better soon x

    • Zoe / Apr 4 2013 2:46 pm

      Thanks! I haven’t been feeling too bad the last few days, so fingers crossed it stays gone!

  2. Where's My Glow? (@Glowless) / Apr 3 2013 12:03 pm

    It’s totally the baby. Totally.

    • Zoe / Apr 3 2013 12:27 pm

      😀 Yay! It’s a wiggler, alright!

  3. Sue Kennedy / Apr 2 2013 9:03 am

    I just read that peppermint is good for morning sickness – peppermint tea with honey is nice. Oh. Peppermint tea with raw sugar is nice, too!

    • Zoe / Apr 3 2013 12:27 pm

      Mmm, peppermint tea sounds nice. I’ll try that next time I’m queasy.

  4. fatcatfromvox / Apr 2 2013 1:14 am

    Oooh, congratulations! I hope the heart burn gets better soon – a friend reccommends chewing almonds or drinking milk, she found those to help.

    • Zoe / Apr 3 2013 12:25 pm

      Thank you! Almonds sound tasty, I’ll give that a try!

Leave a Reply

