Skip to content
December 21, 2012 / Zoe

U Is For University.

The University of WA is such a beautiful place. It’s full of trees and lawns and huge stone buildings. It’s an inspiring place to learn! (Yes, I’m a total nerd. I get inspired to learn.)

Arts

The Arts Building.

Arts Building

The Arts Building at night. 

arts2

The Arts Building again.

reid

Reid Library – with a moat.

winthrop

Pond in front of Winthrop Hall.

{Photos are by Matt, and the last three were taken with the Holga 135BC.}

I still find it rather weird that I’m a uni student again. When I was a uni student nearly 8 years ago I was 18, and completely out of my depth. I feel like I’ve grown up a lot since since then. So to be back, amongst the 18 year olds, it’s weird. It’s quite wonderful though, I’m very relieved to have something to tell people when they ask what I’ve been up to, hiding my house being crazy doesn’t seem like a satisfactory answer. But most of all, I’ve discovered that I really, really, love English. I thought I would major in History and minor in English. One semester later and I’m definitely jumping into an English major. It’s fun. When a course is fun, you know you’ve found the right one. And I’m good at it. And my tutors think I’m good at it. It feels very strange to admit I’m good at something. I feel like I’m being arrogant, and I’m all about humility. But it’s ok to admit you’re good at things, in fact, you should shout it from the rooftops! My name is Zoe, and I am good at English and Cultural Studies! Take that, little voice in my head, telling me I’m not.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. sukiesoriginal / Dec 23 2012 7:41 am

    Here’s a quote for you – “Go where the love takes you every day.-False desires taste of fear. -True desires always taste of love.” Martha Beck. That’s a more elaborate version of Joseph Campbell “Follow your bliss”.

Leave a Reply

