Skip to content
December 17, 2012 / Zoe

Q Is For Quiet.

It’s hard to take a photo of quiet, so there’s no photo today. Words are quiet too, I suppose, when they’re written not spoken.

I feel guilty to admit how much I love a quiet house. A quiet house, at least for today, means that Matt is away at work again, away for a week this time. He’s away where it is hot, and the work is hard. I would prefer to enjoy my quiet house while Matt was teaching a lecture, or at the library writing his thesis. But it’s hard to control what you enjoy, it might even be impossible.

Today the house is quiet. My computer whirrs. The fridge periodically clunks and vibrates. The kittens gallop through the lounge, and the occasional bus rattles the windows. I do not speak. The thoughts that have been pushed to the periphery of my brain can untangle themselves and uncurl, twisting around until they make sense. Lists get made, plans are developed. Everything happens when it is quiet.

It’s the bliss of the introvert, an empty house. In the same way an extrovert finds themselves full of energy when surrounded by people, and introvert is most energetic when alone. That’s how it is for me, anyway. That’s not to say that I don’t love and value the company of others, particularly my manfriend, I absolutely do. It’s just that I really do enjoy the quiet.

Hear that? No?

Exactly.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Circe / Dec 19 2012 5:28 am

    what a beautiful post Zoe, you really caught how wonderful quiet can be.

  2. sukiesoriginal / Dec 18 2012 2:44 pm

    Right now I am ENVIOUS! I hate school holidays, and it’s only been a week… you’ll have to read Susan Cain’s “QUIET-The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking”, also Laurie Helgoe’s “Introvert Power”. If you can’t get them from a library, I’ll lend you mine.

  3. Leah / Dec 17 2012 11:09 pm

    This is exactly how I function! It’s hard to explain to extroverts how much I need to be alone sometimes. I love your description of untangling and uncurling thoughts. Thank you! 🙂

    • Zoe / Dec 18 2012 10:13 am

      Thank you! I find it hard to explain too, people seem to find it insulting somehow, but it’s really not! I just tell them to imagine being alone all day, every day, and tell them that’s how I feel being with people every day!

  4. orchidsbirdsandotherthings / Dec 17 2012 8:03 pm

    i can relate to this

Leave a Reply

