Skip to content
December 14, 2012 / Zoe

N Is For Nativity.

I feel a little bit odd admitting how much I love a good nativity scene, considering I’m not in the least bit religious. Setting up the nativity was always my favourite part of Christmas as a child, I loved unwrapping all of Mum’s handmade clay figures of people and animals, and placing them all in the appropriate positions. I loved the tiny clay Jesus, just a little blob laying in his clay manger. It also probably appealed to my fascination with pregnancy and birth!

Over the years plastic animals joined Mum’s hand-crafted ones, then my little brother’s dinosaur collection appeared alongside. In March, when my family celebrated Christmas, some Star Wars figurines made an appearance, and what resulted was a completely blasphemous, but hilarious, nativity scene.

nativity

Joseph is the original clay figure, but Mary has been replaced by Mrs. Tiggy-Winkle, and Darth Vader watched over all. This might not appeal to most sensible people, but my siblings and I found it all rather amusing. I was glad to have a sweet nativity, even in this most ridiculous form.

I plan to craft my own nativity when I have children, my material of choice will probably be yarn, not clay; I love the idea of a little amigurumi nativity. Christmas always sneaks up on me so there’s no sign of such a nativity this year. I might make a New Years challenge to myself to crochet one figure a month during 2013. So by Christmas I will have a Joseph, Mary and Jesus, and a nice collection of animals.

Do you set up a nativity scene?

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Matt Harris (@mattharris_au) / Dec 15 2012 8:19 pm

    As I recall, Baby Jesus was played by a Buddha figurine. Hedging our bets, I’d say.

  2. Sue Kennedy / Dec 15 2012 12:04 pm

    I haven’t brought out the nativity this year (so far), but I do have a Darth Vader in a knitted Christmas stocking. very festive!

    • Zoe / Dec 15 2012 9:39 pm

      You should put a santa hat on him!

  3. Circe / Dec 14 2012 9:51 pm

    I do have a navity scene. I didn’t make it, but it’s all hand-carved. All of the roles are played by different dog breeds. I feel in love with it 10 years ago, and watched it in the store for three more seasons before my mum surprised me with it. The baby Jesus is played by a Westie, which was the kind of dog I had at the time. One of the wise men is played by a German Shepard, which my mum had at the time. It was special to us because it was nice to see our dogs playing such important roles. Mum thinks it’s sad to continue to put it out, but I still love it. Last year I bought them a lovely crèche

    • Zoe / Dec 15 2012 9:40 pm

      Oh that sounds amazing!! I would love one with different cat breeds!

Leave a Reply

