Skip to content
December 13, 2012 / Zoe

M Is For Maisie.

Mrs. Moo Moo is her current nickname. More formally know as Thomasia, but only when she’s in trouble. I’m sure the next evolution of her name will be Her Majesty Moo Moo, because she is certainly the queen of this house, and she is most definitely in charge. She’s not a lap cat, but she still seeks me out to painfully knead my chest when she needs some reassurance. She also doesn’t seek out the other kittens to snuggle with, but when Daisy pushes her head into Maisie’s neck, she will happily groom her until she decides to bite her on the butt. They have a tenuous relationship, those two.

maisie basket

She is a miracle kitty, like Daisy. She has diabetes, but it is now in remission, so she doesn’t need insulin shots any more, which I am eternally grateful for, I hated sticking her with a needle twice a day. We were called to the vet several times to say our goodbyes when they were trying to get her blood sugar under control, it was up to 28 at one point, which for a human would be lethal. When we were sent home it was with the understanding that nothing was likely to work. But my extremely strict 12 hourly feeds and insulin shots worked, and within six months she was off insulin. She’s still on an expensive diabetic food, but the vet thinks she can come off that soon. She’s an amazing fighter.

maisie

I made the kittens a bed out of one of Matt’s old amps he didn’t want any more. I unscrewed the front and took all the stuff out, then reattached it and put a towel inside. It was an instant favourite with them all, it’s nice and big to lie down in, and very private. Maisie was very pleased with herself when she first sat inside.

maisie 2

I am the biggest advocate for rescue cats; I fostered kittens and have two of my own. But Maisie is my fancy cat, a pure Russian Blue. I found a reputable breeder who I was comfortable with, and I do believe there is a place for responsible breeders. Hopefully, in the future a registered breeder will be the only way to acquire a kitten, because all pet cats will be desexed. That’s the dream anyway. Because Russian Blues are meant to have no colour variation at all, just solid blue, we tease her because she has a tabby tail. It’s a little bit mean, but I don’t think she minds.

maisiebox

Her favourite things are dinner time, sleeping in the gap between our pillows at night, her box under the dining table (above), which is just the right size, and inspecting our bags and shoes whenever we return home. It’s always interesting when Matt gets home from two weeks away at work, all his things need a good sniffing, as does Matt himself!

She was the perfect first kitten for us, she converted Matt into a cat lover, and she stole both our hearts. We just love our Mrs. Moo Moo!

 

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Vixie / Dec 17 2012 5:03 pm

    She’s such a beautiful kitty! And I call mine Miss Moo Moo too! Even though her name is Yoyo…!

    • Zoe / Dec 17 2012 6:07 pm

      You do!? Well it is the perfect kitty-cat nick name! And it’s good because the moomooomoooo can easily turn into smooches. 🙂

      • Vixie / Dec 17 2012 6:20 pm

        Exactly! And it can turn into meowwwww or nyommmm easily too, which is always fun! She’s getting more used to me smooching her belly now… I bet she secretly loves it!

      • Zoe / Dec 17 2012 6:27 pm

        Hahaha, I smooch Maisie on the belly too! She’s the only one who will tolerate it. But yeah, she totally loves it.

      • Vixie / Dec 17 2012 6:28 pm

        Well make sure to give Mrs Moo Moo a big smooch from me! x

      • Zoe / Dec 17 2012 6:33 pm

        Same to Miss Moo Moo!

Leave a Reply

