Skip to content
December 12, 2012 / Zoe

L Is For Loaf.

I’ve been doing some bread baking lately, and I think I’ve finally got the ‘feel’ for it. I’ve tried many times in the past, but I’ve never been satisfied with what I produced. Lately I’ve been making cute little round loaves with spelt flour. Regular wheat gives me a belly ache, and spelt bread is very expensive, so making my own is the best solution! Now that I can make a simple loaf I want to move on to bigger and better things, like braided loaves and sourdough. One rule I’ll never follow is letting the bread cool before I eat it, apparently it develops the flavour, but there’s no way for me to resist a slice of steaming hot bread slathered in margarine and vegemite!

loaf

Do you bake your own bread? If not, you should give it a try. It’s really hard to completely fail, and it’s so rewarding and delicious!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. VeryZoe / Dec 12 2012 11:12 pm

    I’ve been loving your alphabet posts so far Zoe, it’s nice to see your blog pop up in my reader every day 🙂
    I love making bread. I made my first loaf shortly after I moved out of home, and my parents popped round unannounced about 10 minutes before it came out of the oven. The three of us devoured the whole loaf! And you’re right, it’s near impossible for me to wait until it’s cool to cut it too. I mean, where’s the fun in that?

    • Zoe / Dec 13 2012 8:15 pm

      Thanks Zoe, I can’t believe I’m halfway through the month! I regularly eat half a loaf straight out of the oven! Now that I’m baking it every few days I can resist a little better though.

Leave a Reply

