Skip to content
December 8, 2012 / Zoe

H Is For Home.

My childhood home has always been Home for me. I can’t imagine feeling for another piece of land the way I feel for this 3 acres in country Victoria. I lived there for 17 years and 51 weeks, and my family has been there for nearly 30 years.

home 4

It’s nestled amongst trees, on a quiet dirt road. Mountain views are a short stroll away and a ragged wallaby lives in the back yard. Mum is a wonderful gardener, she has a big vegie patch as well as ornamentals. You can get lost in the big rambling garden.

home 3

It’s peaceful. Whenever I visit, which isn’t nearly often enough, as it’s a country away, I always feel like a weight has been lifted the moment I walk into the kitchen. Maybe it’s just the weight of my bags dropping to the floor, but I think it’s more than that. It’s the feeling of being completely at home, which I get nowhere else.

home wallaby

Maybe one day another house will feel like this. I hope so. I hope I can provide a place like this for my own children. They don’t expect them to live there from birth, my eldest brother was nearly 10 when they moved here, but I know that the house still gives him the same sense of Home.

home 2

It will be in the country. There will be chooks, cats, some sheep, a dog, and a handful of children. The compost heap will pile into the sky, and the ground will be soft and fertile, providing nourishment and joy for me and my family. Bookcases will line the walls, and the pantry will be as big as a room, not as small as a cupboard. I won’t be able to see my neighbours through the trees, and a car passing will be a rare occurrence. I don’t know when and where and how this home will be, but I hope it will be. Eventually.

home

What gives you a sense of home?

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. sukiesoriginal / Dec 9 2012 2:27 pm

    Castlemaine is still ‘home’ because I grew up there, but I felt quite at home in Seattle, Portland and Olympia, so maybe it’s some sort of lefty, arty, liberalism…? That doesn’t explain Aberdeen though! Here is home because it’s full of memories, mementos and my stuff.

    • Zoe / Dec 9 2012 3:08 pm

      I wonder if I’ll feel at home when I finally get to visit my beloved Moldova.

Leave a Reply

