Skip to content
December 7, 2012 / Zoe

G Is For Gates and Guitar Cakes.

A little bit of  a random mix this evening, but I couldn’t decide between the two! And I made/helped make both of these, so there’s a common theme there.

This is a cake I made a few months ago and never shared on here. Matt is a guitarist, so this was his birthday cake, although it was a few weeks late because he was working on his birthday. We have a tradition of making crazy cakes like this for each other, I hope we keep it up forever!

guitarcake

guitarcake2

And G is for Gate, our old gate had several missing posts and easily blew open with a slightest gust of wind, and Perth is windy! We live on a very busy road, right in front of a bus stop, so having a derelict gate which was often hanging open didn’t make me feel very safe! We were planning on buying one ready made, but we couldn’t find one wide enough, for some reason the gap is wider than usual.

When I say I helped make the gate, I mean I helped design it, measured things and supervised. Although I do know how to use power tools, this was Matt’s project. We’re going to paint it green when he gets home from work next week.

gate 2

gate

Didn’t he do good? People at the bus stop can no longer see our pathetic front yard, very nice.

It was fun to work with wood rather than wool or fabric. Have you been making anything different lately?

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. sukiesoriginal / Dec 9 2012 2:22 pm

    That’s a ZZ Top gate! Excellent design and execution.

    • Zoe / Dec 9 2012 3:07 pm

      Thanks, we’re rather impressed with it. I can’t wait until it’s greeeen!

  2. Flamingo Dancer / Dec 8 2012 10:39 am

    I’ll have a piece

    • Zoe / Dec 9 2012 9:57 am

      I’ll pop some in the mail. 😉

  3. aoifenica / Dec 7 2012 10:14 pm

    I love the cake! Well done!

    • Zoe / Dec 8 2012 9:43 am

      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

