Skip to content
December 2, 2012 / Zoe

B Is For Books.

I like big books (and I cannot lie).

I love getting completely engrossed in a story, and I love to get to know the characters; they still linger in my mind long after I’ve finished reading the pages. While I am reading they are my friends, and constant companions. I think about them while I do the dishes, and I wonder what fate has in store for them, fully aware that their fate is in the hands of the author, and it’s not really fate at all. It’s artifice, but while I read, it feels real.

I made some piles to share with you. I love the look of piles of books.

books childhood fav

There are some of my favourite books from my childhood/teen years. Missing is The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy and the Born Free series.

books adult favs

These are some of my favourite books as an adult. Salman Rushdie is definitely my favourite author, his books are weird and I like that. Missing from this pile is Shame by Rushdie, I hope to find it in an Op Shop one day, as I found most of these, but I might have to cave and buy it soon, because I really must own it.

books currently reading

These are the books I’m currently reading. Please tell me you read several books at once too! The one with the faded spine is called Herland, it’s really fantastic so far. And The Dialectic Of Sex was a 50c Op Shop find this week, it’s so great, it’s from 1970 and is about how the oppressed position of women is similar to the class struggles of the previous century and calls from a feminist revolution. It’s all very exciting!

books summer reading

This is my summer reading pile. I have a list to take to the library if I get through this pile. I might not, I’ve been relishing my crafty time in my holidays so far.

bookshelf

And this is our bookshelf. I’m so happy I found a man who also loves books. I can’t imagine a home not filled with books, my Mum has a sign on her wall which says, ‘A room without books, is like a body without a soul,’ or something to that effect. I think that’s so true, every room deserves a bookshelf so stuffed full of books that half of them need to be stuffed in sideways.

I love books. I really do. I love the smell, I love the weight, I love the feel of turning the pages. I’m a book purist, I can’t see myself ever having one of those new fangled ebook readers. Unless I get the chance to travel, then I can see the value. I would still never stop buying my books though.

What’s your favourite book?

 

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. collecty / Dec 2 2012 10:56 pm

    Reblogged this on Collecty.net.

  2. Joyful Mama Designs / Dec 2 2012 10:22 pm

    I’m finding it difficult to locate the “like” button on here, so I guess I am meant to leave a comment 🙂 Love that you’re doing this A-Z challenge…maybe that’s just the kick in the butt that I need for my blog! AND so understand getting lost in a book and in the characters. That’s why I have an undergrad in English Lit. Now I feel the need to run out and buy some more bookshelves so that I can unpack the boxes of books that I have tucked away 🙂

    • Zoe / Dec 3 2012 6:12 am

      I definitely need a kick in the blog butt, I just started uni and I completely forgot about the blog over the semester! I’ll have an undergrad in English in a few years too! You should absolutely unpack your books, they’re so lovely to look at, and the best kind of decor, I think.

      I can’t see a like button either! I wonder if it’s my theme, I’ll have to look into that, thanks!

Leave a Reply

