Skip to content
December 1, 2012 / Zoe

A Is For Amigurumi.

I think the last time I blogged about my crochet I was still making odd shaped granny squares! I started learning last December, and I’ve improved a lot since then. It might be my favourite craft, but it’s pretty hard to choose.

Here’s some amigurumi I’ve made in the last year. They were all gifts, I still haven’t made anything for myself! I think that’s typical of a lot of crafters.

turtle2

I made this turtle for Matt last Christmas, I love his little glasses!  It was  a lot easier than I thought it would be. If you know the basic crochet stitches you could make amigurumi!

IMG_5093

This is a red panda I made for my sister. I’m most proud of this one because I adapted the pattern from a raccoon pattern. You can’t see very well, but he has a awesome stripy tail.

IMG_5106

A three eyed fish for my little brother. It’s from The Simpsons, in case you live under a rock with no TV.

quail

A quail for my ornithological father.

kingfisher

And a kingfisher for my similarly ornithological brother.

seahorse

And a seahorse for my seahorse loving mother.

If you’re looking for patterns I found all these at Ravelry or Planet June – she makes amazing things.

Are you playing along? What was your letter A?

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sue Kennedy / Dec 3 2012 1:54 pm

    I still haven’t finished off my tiny robot. Maybe tonight.

  2. eep!! I am astounded at the adorableness you’ve created! But, I shouldn’t be surprised. You are such a fabulously talented cute-maker!! xox
    p.s. flying squirrel!! or how’s about a giraffe? a giraffe wearing a scarf, perhaps? 😉

  3. mandaray / Dec 1 2012 11:50 pm

    Oh wow. These look amazing! And so cute!! ❤

    • Zoe / Dec 2 2012 5:37 am

      Thanks! I’ll have to think about what to make next. Maybe a sea otter!

      • mandaray / Dec 2 2012 11:34 am

        Oh gosh. Otters are so cute all by themselves…I can’t imagine a tinier, cuddlier version! I think my cuteness radar might short circuit.

  4. Joyful Mama Designs / Dec 1 2012 10:33 pm

    I LOVE these!!! I’m especially impressed by the radioactive fish 😉 Honestly, amigurumi is one of those things that I would love to do, but have never really had very much luck creating. These are all so amazing! Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

    • Zoe / Dec 2 2012 5:36 am

      Thanks! They can be a bit fiddly, but still a lot of fun to make. 🙂

  5. Ieva / Dec 1 2012 9:17 pm

    And don’t forget there was the really cool kitty one you made for me 🙂 Little Frida used to love it and pull off the shelf all the time.

  6. espirational / Dec 1 2012 8:16 pm

    I love those!

    • Zoe / Dec 1 2012 8:25 pm

      Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

