Skip to content
October 1, 2012 / Zoe

Still Here.

Still here. Still chugging along. Still plodding around uni, still crocheting a blanket, still patting kittens, still pulling weeds, still baking cookies and still living life.

Uni is going… ok. Just ok. Not fabulously ok, nor dismally ok. Just ok.

I think the hardest thing about uni is losing the motivation to do anything else. Both fun things, and things I need to do, like dishes. Essays, and tutorial readings, and quizzes, and presentations, is all I can focus on at the moment. I’m hoping it gets easier. I suppose I will reassess at the end of semester. At least Daisy helps me with my work.

I’m learning a lot of things, like how capitalism is probably the worst thing ever, followed closely by industrialism. Seriously you guys, buy local. Buy handmade. Support small businesses. It’s reignited my passion for handmade, but unfortunately the passion hasn’t reignited my motivation. There’s a cool little market at Uni every week, I’d love to sell my things there, but I have to have the product first, and that’s just not happening at the moment.

I’m also learning that feminism is just as relevant and important as ever. Well I already knew that, it’s been reaffirmed though. There’s so much victim blaming, slut shaming, body hating, ridiculousness in the world, it just makes me furious! I don’t know how to fix it. I don’t know if it can be fixed. I hope it can, I don’t want my children to grow up in a world where only one body type is acceptable, thin for girls, muscly for boys. I don’t want them to feel the need to conform to anyone standards but their own, or to live up to anyone else’s values. I guess for my children, it starts with me. That’s why this summer I won’t be shaving my legs. I’ve never liked shaved legs, but I’ve always conformed. Well screw you, society, my leg hairs will grow long and beautiful, just like all the other hair on my body! Body hair is such a personal choice, and what I do with it shouldn’t concern anyone else but me.

How are you, internetty friends I’ve neglected so? I hope you’re well.

xx

 

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. MaryAnn / Oct 23 2012 10:10 pm

    I’m glad to hear that you’re doing well in your classes. Try not to get overwhelmed and do everything & learn everything at once. “To everything there is a season…” Of course there are necessary things like homework & housekeeping tasks, but those other things you want to do like making more products to sell at the market & such, those things can wait a while & that’s ok. Just keep plugging along! You’re going to do great 🙂

    • Zoe / Nov 8 2012 4:51 pm

      Thanks for the lovely comment Mary, I read it at just the right time! I’m doing exam prep now and I’m just focusing on that!

  2. Circe / Oct 23 2012 1:23 am

    I love having a furry motivator. Good work Daisy

  3. mandaray / Oct 2 2012 1:20 am

    Yay, you’re back! And you brought adorable Daisy pictures! *snuggle* I missed that furry face. 😀

    Glad things are going all right with you, and I second your feelings on feminism. I too thought it wasn’t really such a pressing issue anymore, but I have recently discovered that viewpoint was totally wrong. My blog has started to reflect my growing interest as well. I usually focus on video games, since that’s where 90% of my other interests lie, and it’s depressing to see that same boring old body type used over and over and over again. Men are piles and piles of muscle and gruffness; women are huge tits with a pouty face and no waist. It’s annoying.

    • Zoe / Oct 2 2012 9:31 am

      Thank you! That is so interesting, I’d love to know what those people look like in real life, and why they feel the need to portray themselves like that in a fantasy world!

      • mandaray / Oct 2 2012 11:26 am

        Honestly, gamers don’t get much choice how they portray themselves in fantasy worlds. Only RPGs like Skyrim really let you customize your character. MMOs or Moba type games give you an extremely limited set of body and face types to work with. They somehow seem to think offering a plethora of options pertaining to eye and hair color make up for that. But it doesn’t. What if I want to play a really burly female character, or a really wispy, weak looking guy? I’m outta luck.

      • Zoe / Oct 4 2012 8:54 am

        Ah that sucks, I guess that’s a reflection on the game makers rather than the game players then. My only gaming experience is the Sims and you can make fat people in there, but I have no idea if people do or not!

  4. thebockster / Oct 1 2012 9:30 pm

    Awesome on not shaving your legs! I stopped in my last year of high school, and I shave once or twice a year! I always get teased by my more conforming cousins, but it’s worth saving myself the effort of shaving! Leg hair, don’t care 🙂
    I’ve found that a good way to stop victim and slut shaming is to stop reading gossip magazines and the like (not sure if you do this or not, but it’s a great start). I’ve cut down a lot of that in my life, but I know that TV is the next thing that should go. Once you start recognizing it, you can’t forget about it.
    Also? Sundresses with leg hair is probably the coolest. Just rock it!

    • Zoe / Oct 2 2012 9:33 am

      Thanks Thalia, I’ve been furry all winter, it’s nice I’m going to keep it, haha! I stopped reading gossip mags in high school, thankfully, they really are awful!

Leave a Reply

