Skip to content
July 8, 2012 / Zoe

Op Shop Finds – Polaroid Cameras.

I’ve had a bit of luck in my search for vintage cameras in the last few months, with the addition of two polaroid cameras to our growing collection.

First is the classic Polaroid Spirit 600, with the instantly recognisable rainbow stripe. These were made in the 1980-90s.

I found this beauty last week. I was looking for a present for Matt at my local Op Shop, because he was away for work for 2 weeks and I wanted to buy him something so he would remember that I love him! I think I audibly gasped when I saw it, because I walked past it twice before I spotted it! It had no price tag and the lovely lady at the counter gave it to me for $5.

This other one is a little bit older. It’s a Polaroid EE66 and was made in 1967-7.

I really love this one, because it’s a bit different and also because I got it when I was in Victoria visiting my family in March, so it has lovely memories associated with it. My Mum is as much of an Op Shop enthusiast as I am (she even started volunteering at one recently!) so we spent an entire afternoon visiting all the Oppies in my little home town. For such a small town the range of Op Shops is quite impressive, it has four of them and one of them is huge! That’s where I found this one, and with a price tag of $3.50 I did a little jig when I picked it up! It was even inside the original case!

This camera did cause me a little bit of drama on my way home though. I had it in my carry-on luggage at the airport because I didn’t want to jam it in my suitcase. It did cross my mind that it might look a little odd when it went through the x-ray machine, but I wasn’t expecting a man to march over and ask to look through my bags! They put it through 3 times, and I began to wonder if I’d accidentally bought a camera full drugs! Well, it turns out that it had a little flash cube with it, flash cubes are little plastic boxes which give of four flashes of light without the need for a battery. So, naturally, they have explosives inside! Only a tiny amount, but enough to have them closely inspected before they were handed back to me.

What have you found at the Op Shop/Thrift Store lately?

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lauren / Jul 25 2012 4:07 pm

    Hahah for the “explosive” flashes!!

    I have three out polaroids and recently found some old film but it didn’t work out.. it had gotten dried out or something and would not work.

  2. Tegan Elizabeth (@toriholic23) / Jul 16 2012 3:49 pm

    These are so cool! I’m going to have to keep an eye out for cameras during my op shop runs now, although these seem like one of a kind finds!

  3. yay for Polaroid finds! I’ve never seen the ee66 before – it looks like way too much fun! I, too, scored a couple of more Polaroids for my collection in the past couple of weeks. And as an extra bonus, one came with a few packs of expired film! I already used 2 of the packs, one didn’t work at all, but the other one did! I just posted about the lakeside trip I took & I used an entire pack that day. 🙂
    I think I may venture out to a local op shop right now, you’ve inspired me! Not that it takes much pushing to get me to go to one 😉

Leave a Reply

