Skip to content
June 18, 2012 / Zoe

One year later.

I was looking at my Daisy today, thinking about how it’s been such a long time since we thought we would lose her after she ate some thread and it tangled up in her guts, when I realised that it must be about a year! So I jumped on the blog and tracked back to discover that I missed it! It was one year a couple of weeks ago.

Daisy is still not exactly healthy, she has leukaemia, an underlying condition which could show itself at any time. I sometimes work myself into a tizzy thinking about her health, but when I think about how she managed to survive having her intestines begin to die, only to have the two living ends sewn together, well, all I can really think is that this year, and whatever time we have left, is an amazing gift. A bonus. Special amazing extra Daisy time. And then it doesn’t all seem so horrible.

She’s a special kitten. The weirdest, craziest, most paranoid cat in the world. She loves me with all her self. She tolerates Matt’s existence. She is terrified of everyone else. Which kind of makes her love for me all the more special.

The most amazing outcome of Daisy’s accident was the outpouring of support, both financial and emotional, from the blogging and animal loving community. It still makes me tear up to think about it; we would have been in a mess without that support. It was not a cheap endeavour, fixing our little Miss Daisy!

So, I’ve been thinking that I want to do something more. I know that a lot of people donated because it was an emergency, and it was personal. But do you think something similar would work with the money going to an animal charity? I would ask for donations of goods plus postage from lovely crafty people, in return for a personalised feature on the blog, and people could buy ‘raffle tickets’ online to win something. Would that work? Am I crazy? And how would I decide which amazing charity to support? Would you support a charity in another country?

Thoughts? Please?

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. fabi / Jul 2 2012 12:14 pm

    I think it is not crazy… and if you give fine reasons people will donate even if it is a charity in another country.
    You are lucky to have her in your life, she is lucky to have you.

  2. thebockster / Jun 25 2012 12:30 am

    I’ll be down to donate something again!! Been knitting up a storm 🙂

  3. Johanna GGG / Jun 22 2012 9:17 pm

    sounds like a great way to raise some money? your photos of daisy are gorgeous – she looks like a special cat – glad she is still bringing you joy

  4. Vixie / Jun 19 2012 8:36 pm

    Daisy is such a fighter! And she’s gorgeous to boot!

    I’ll be up for helping in any way I can xxxxx

  5. Sarah / Jun 19 2012 8:58 am

    I would definetly love to be involved in the raffle (buying tickets). I support Soi Dog Foundation in Thailand and also BAWA in Bali, Whatever you decide to do will be fantastic and appreciated! Miss Daisy you are a pretty special girl.

  6. I think that’s an awesome idea. I wanted to do something like this for my local animal rescue places – LAWS (Lakefield Animal Welfare Society) and ARK (Animal Rescue Krew) – but I didn’t know how to go about doing so.
    Y’know, you could set up an ongoing animal charity program via the blog community. It could be called the Maisy & Daisy Charity (because of how both kitties survived traumas). Those of us with Etsy shops could also donate a percentage of sales. Have a rotating recipient, globally. OR, each individual could have their percentages sent to their own charity. Obviously, I haven’t fine-tuned the idea – but your post got me thinking! Thinking hurts! 😉
    Also, god bless Daisy. What a fighter she is!! Congrats for her will to live, and to you for being such a good mama.
    xox!

Leave a Reply

