Skip to content
May 25, 2012 / Zoe

Cupcakes – All the colours of the rainbow.

Cupcakes are very in right now. Not so much in the world, I know that macarons are the cool thing elsewhere, but in our house it’s all about cupcakes. So what does one do when they’re confronted with 12 tasty chocolate cupcakes fresh from the oven? Well, they make 12 different frostings, of course!

Oh, that’s just me? Nevermind then.

For myself, lover of all things colourful and synthetic, there was a rainbow of frosting. Half of them flavoured with peppermint essence and the other half with aniseed essence. I discovered the aniseed essence last week and nearly dropped my basket at the supermarket, because oh my goodness, I love licorice!

For my beautiful man-friend there was a tasting plate of vegan goodness. (I can’t believe I ever thought vegan baking would be hard or impossible, seriously, it’s not and it tastes just as good.)

Matt is less into ‘fake’ flavours. If he was going to have a peppermint frosting he’d rather go and collect some fresh peppermint than to use the convenience of the bottle. I prefer my food to taste like toothpaste. So he had a strawberry jam, coffee (my favourite, so good!), peanut butter, banana, chocolate and orange frosting.

What have you been baking lately?

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Johanna GGG / Jun 18 2012 6:35 pm

    love all those bright colours and the real flavours too – can I combine them?

    Thanks for visiting my blog – Not only do I love giraffes and green but I have a treasured cat and am in the middle of knitting a scarf – wish it was a cool stripey one for a giraffe like in your wonderful illustrations but it is far far shorter for my little girl

    • Zoe / Jun 18 2012 7:29 pm

      I’m sure some of the natural flavours plus bright colours would work, the banana and strawberry. But I don’t think peanut butter would go a nice colour!

      I love knitting too, but lately I’ve mostly been crocheting, my newly learnt skill!

  2. thebockster / May 25 2012 8:16 pm

    YES!! These are beautiful- they must have taken so much work!! I love all things synthetic and colourful too! These remind me of my 21st birthday party, which was rainbow themed- complete with several outfit changes for me, rainbow jello shots (oh my!) and decorate your own cupcakes!! I bet your cupcakes tasted yummy!! Speaking of licorice, have you had salted licorice? It’s so nuts!

Leave a Reply

