Skip to content
April 10, 2012 / Zoe

Easter Bilby.

It never occurred to me when I posted about my little Easter that some of my readers might have never heard of an Easter bilby! Well, this is an Easter bilby.

And this is a bilby!

{source }

Adorable, no?

Bilbies are kind of like the rabbits of Australia, they’re cute and they hop around. But they’re not related to rabbits at all, they’re marsupials, like much of our wildlife. They’re endangered now, because pesky English people decided to bring rabbits to Australia, and the rabbits ate all their food. They also bought foxes, who think bilbies to be rather tasty.

The idea of the Easter bilby became common when I was a kid. I can remember it distinctly, because being a nature lover, I was ridiculously excited! At first the proceeds from the chocolate bilbies went to conservation programs, which is pretty great. I’m not sure if that’s the case any more. Anyway, my first bilby was one I had to share with the family. Easter was never very extravagant in my single income family with 5 children. The chocolate bilby had a little baby bilby in its pouch (to this day I’m overly attached to animals that don’t exist; like in computer games or made of chocolate), and I declared to everyone that the head of the baby was mine! I wanted to save it until last. I think I was about 7, and it was very important to me. Well, my Dad ate it! I was so upset! Completely traumatised that he had so thoughtlessly eaten the head of the baby bilby I so adored. I know it sounds overly dramatic, but that’s because it was!  The feelings of a 7 year old are very delicate, so look before you eat!

In the comments from my Easter post Vixie thought an Easter hedgehog would be appropriate for the UK, and Caren thought perhaps the Easter beaver should frequent Canada… or maybe not.

What alternative Easter creature would you like to see?!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Vixie / Apr 12 2012 2:45 am

    I loved that story about your childhood bilby! Dads can be so mean!

    When I was in Australia (when I was about 13) I had what I think was called a Yowie and it had a toy bilby inside it and it was one of the most exciting parts of the holiday! I’m going to have to see if I can hunt him out! Bilbies FTW!

Leave a Reply

