Skip to content
February 20, 2012 / Zoe

My Valentine’s Day.

So on actual Valentine’s Day I celebrated me, by being lazy and doing what I like, because I was here all on my lonesome. It was nice enough, but a day with my man-friend was better. Matt got home from work on Friday, so we celebrated our love on Saturday. We’re not a lovey-dovey romantic couple, I don’t expect roses, chocolates or a blue box from Tiffany’s, all I want is a day with my boy all to myself, and a tasty dinner to eat at the table, rather than in front of the TV.

In the morning we went to a farmers market and bought a pile of fruit and vegies for our fridge. We went early, so it wasn’t too busy, and I felt relaxed and happy, despite being surrounded by people.

Our tradition on special occasions is for Matt to make dinner, and for me to make dessert. Matt made an Indian feast, with three different dishes, plus flat bread on the side.

I picked a bouquet from the garden, mostly leaves because our garden is quite lacking is the flower department, but it still looked lovely, especially with the water dyed red. I even dug out some candles and put on a dress and jewellery.

Zelda was very perplexed by our odd behaviour, particularly the eating at the table. I really want to try to eat one meal a week at the table, it’s nice to look at Matt while we eat, rather than us both staring at the TV.

I spent all day making dessert, it had so many steps and layers and waiting for things to cool, but it was worth it! I made another pie from Vegan Pie In The Sky, the Boston cream pie. It was so delicious! I cannot gush enough about how much I love this cookbook!

After dinner we wanted to watch a romantic movie which wasn’t too serious. We picked Coming To America, it was the first time in a while I’d watched it and it was a funny and romantic as I remembered, the perfect ending to a lovely Valentine’s!

How was your weekend? I hope it was full of love and tasty food.  

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. thursday / Feb 22 2012 10:36 pm

    Oohh, you have me curious about that cook book. I’ve tried a couple vegan recipes recently and I’ve enjoyed them a lot. I like the challenge of vegan baking. It’s still definitely a challenge for me. Have you checked out the Vegan Housewives blog? The ladies that run it are so rad!

  2. Wake Up, Lovely / Feb 21 2012 5:43 pm

    That pud looks awesome! i love the red water for the flowers too 🙂

  3. Lesley Wright / Feb 20 2012 11:12 pm

    The food looks lovely, and your table beautiful. I like your leaves and the red water, and I love that you take care of my baby boy!
    PS: I want some pie!!

  4. Vixie / Feb 20 2012 9:43 pm

    That sounds lovely! And I’m loving the dyed water idea!

Leave a Reply

