Skip to content
February 14, 2012 / Zoe

Valentine’s Day PSA

Sorry folks, Valentine’s Day has been postponed. Because of boys working in the desert instead of being home with their Zoes. Come back on Saturday, when there will be lovin’ all round.

Today is actually Anna Howard Shaw Day. If you get that reference then I changed my mind, Valentine’s is back on and I’m marrying you.

I spent today loving myself. Which is really hard for me to even type, if I’m completely honest. Self love is something completely foreign to me, and it’s hard for me to find reasons why I deserve it. The little voice at the back of my head is well versed in the words that hurt me. But today, in honour of Anna Howard Shaw, I am trying my best to love myself for who I am.

I watched some of my favourite movies, including Lars And The Real Girl (if you haven’t seen it, you must immediately!) and ate some chocolate and popcorn, because I deserve Ryan Gosling and chocolate and popcorn, preferably all together.

I painted my nails pretty colours, because I deserve to think my finger tips are pretty.

And I made myself a pizza for dinner and pudding for dessert, because on special occasions, I deserve that too.

If you’re lucky enough to have a man or a lady in your life today, then cuddle up close with them and whisper sweet-nothing in their ear.

If it’s just you today, then snuggle up with a cat, or a blanket, or a man pillow and whisper those things to yourself, because you deserve it too.

xox

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. This is the best non-Valentine’s day post, dear Zoe! You do deserve pretty nails, chocolate & popcorn & Ryan Gosling & homemade pizza & pudding & to love yourself & be loved.
    Have you seen Amy’s Self Love revolution? http://amymorby.com/ It’s wonderful to read so many love-yourself posts around the interwebs, including yours. Loving ourselves is the hardest things, because we do have those tiny/loud voices stuck on repeat in our heads/hearts that try to keep us down. Whenever someone squashes those voices by painting their nails pretty colours because they know they deserve it, then more love blooms.
    xox!
    p.s. I hope that very large pigeon drops that package from Canada to you soon! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. My Valentine’s Day. « A Giraffe in a Scarf

Leave a Reply

