Skip to content
January 31, 2012 / Zoe

Birthday Recap.

I’ve been 25 for 3 days now, and yes, I feel very mature and mid-twenties like.

Not really. I’m still a child.

It was 42C on my birthday (that’s 107.5F), so all of my plans of going to the Zoo, or spending the day op-shopping, were dropped in favour of staying at home and doing nothing. We watched a Bollywood movie and ate a lot of food. Matt made me pancakes for breakfast and we got take-out from the best Indian place in Perth – Chutney Mary’s – for dinner. Given the weather, I was very ok with our quiet day at home.

As a child I was always told it was impolite to not begin with the card when given a present, so here’s the best of the cards. I shouldn’t really say the best of, I just mean the giraffe themed ones.

First is a felt giraffe. So cute. Second is a drawing by my little brother, a giraffe kissing an okapi. He makes the sweetest birthday cards. And a ‘today you’re (2)5’ card from Mum, I actually bought this card for myself about 8 years ago and gave it to her to edit for my 25th. I can’t believe she remembered! Nice to know I still love giraffes as much as I did then.

This little drawing on the back of the card from my brother made me giggle!

Matt was under orders to not spend very much on me because he already pays for, well, everything. He tends to always buy me techy things, he’s bought me a printer, phone, nintendo DS and mp3 player over the years. This year he bought me a Sims 3 expansion that I’ve been pining for, Pets! Of course! My baby horse is so cute.

My sister recently went to Florida to go on a cruise with Weezer. Yes, you read that correctly. So my gifts from her were all the way from Miami and Mexico!

Paper made from poop! It doesn’t smell, I promise.

And this sweet little house from Mexico. It can hang on the wall and look cute, and I love the touch of having lace in the window.

Matt’s little brother sent me a CD I’ve wanted for ages but couldn’t afford. Tim Freedman is one of the few artists whose music I wouldn’t feel ok about just stealing from the Internet. I’m generally alright with that, ha!

As well as the cute shoes Matt’s Mum sent a gorgeous little sheep! It’s more a gift for the girls, it has a squeaker inside which should baa, but it sounds like a duck. It’s a little bit big for them, so he might just sit and look cute. 

My gift from my parents was airfares to go home in a few weeks, (yay!) but Mum also sent a couple of goodies over.

A book about permaculture which she found in an Op-shop, I plan to have a permaculture farm one day when I have the land. It’s really old, but still relevant. Except for the section about farming wallabies, possums and guinea-pigs for meat… that’s not for me!

She also sent a snow-globe! I can’t believe it’s the first one I’ve owned, they’re so fun! The image inside is from her recent holiday to the US; it’s a mountain in Washington.

And this beautiful bracelet. I don’t wear a lot of jewellery, so this seems super fancy to me! But I’m sure I’ll find an occasion to wear it out sometime.

So there’s my very eclectic birthday. Only 363 days until I get to have another one. Hurrah!

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. mb / Feb 8 2012 11:22 am

    I didn’t feel fully grown till about 26. So, you have some odd 360 days or so to live it up. 🙂

  2. Yadira / Feb 3 2012 8:52 pm

    OMG! The little Mexican house is my favorite! I’m glad that you had a very happy day.

    Happy Birthday from Puerto Rico!

  3. Tegan Carter / Feb 3 2012 1:53 pm

    Hey Zoe, looks like you had a really great birthday. I still remember some of the monsters and things alex would draw in ours and nan and grandpas cards, cute that he still does it, not to mention how good it is!
    Hope the kitty klan are doing well and all is brighter since the news about Daisy. I really wanted to let you know, since we lost Roger, we had the time and space to share some love and the house so we signed up to become Dog/cat foster carers. And two days ago we had our first arrival!
    He is an 11 month old Balinese x oriental ginger kitty cat that was a private surrender from a crazy cat lady housing between 50 – 90 cats! He is incredibly smoochy, gentle and tiny and does not stop rolling around for tummy rubs. I will post photos soon, he’s a handsome little chap!
    all the best x

  4. Jodie / Feb 1 2012 9:26 pm

    So glad you had a lovely birthday, and scored some lovely gifts 🙂

    I’m all kinds of jealous of your sister going on that weezer cruise…man it must of been amazing!

    Happy 25th year!
    xx

  5. eef / Jan 31 2012 10:50 pm

    happy birthday! what great gifts! love the giraffe cards!

  6. MaryAnn / Jan 31 2012 10:05 pm

    It sounds like you had a wonderful birthday & your gifts were so well suited to your liking 🙂 I’m glad you got a wonderful day to celebrate you!

  7. Ieva / Jan 31 2012 9:35 pm

    A lovely “haul” 🙂 there is a little something else to come too…..

Leave a Reply

