Skip to content
January 19, 2012 / Zoe

Bird life.

I’m a bit of a bird nerd. My Dad and both my older brothers are avid bird watchers, so I think I just learnt by osmosis. I’ve never actually sat down and studied birds, but somehow they’re in there! I didn’t think my bird knowledge was unusual until I moved out of home and slowly realised that not everyone has all that bird identification in their brain.

Since Matt has been working outdoors he’s become more and more interested in birds, which I’m totally loving! It’s usually him explaining things to me, so it gives me a strange pleasure to be able to say; that’s a black duck, that’s a musk duck, that’s a shoveler, because in his mind they’re just ‘ducks’. Last week we went for a walk around Lake Monger, which is a beautiful local wetlands.

I was lucky enough to catch this Darter taking flight.

There were plenty of Black Swans, the emblem of Western Australia with pride of place on the flag!

An Egret hunting in the shallows.

We were lucky enough to see a family of Australasian Grebes. They were SO adorable! There were two babies and two adults, one baby was floating around trying to keep up with its parent, and the other baby was stuffed under its parents wings. After a while the one swimming around climbed into the nest and forced itself under there as well, it looked very cosy but uncomfortable for their Mumma or Dad! It was just ridiculously cute.

Matt brought out his wide angle lens to take some stunning photos.

This is how close the lake is to the city. Perth is incredibly lucky to still have patches of natural bushland and wetlands in the inner city, having lived in Melbourne, where there’s nothing like this, I appreciate it so much. As well as Lake Monger, there’s Kings Park and Bold Park, which both boast large patches of untouched bushland, and another wetland called Herdsman Lake. The birds are lucky to live here!

Do you live near any natural beauties? Do you visit them as often as you’d like?

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. The Background Story / Jan 19 2012 8:28 pm

    The black swans are beautiful!

  2. thebockster / Jan 19 2012 8:26 pm

    That’s it. It’s settled. I’m taking a trip to Australia! So beautiful!! We have a great huge park in downtown Toronto that I’d love to visit more. It’s one of those parks that you could easily get lost in, and go skiing or hiking. It’s neat to be able to see the city from it, though!

Leave a Reply

