Skip to content
January 16, 2012 / Zoe

In The Garden.

Every year Matt and I restart our vegie patch. Every year we harvest a pile of beans and potatoes and everything else struggles for months until it dies. We have terrible soil in Perth; we’re on a coastal plain so the soil is essentially sand, and it’s ancient sand which means it’s completely leached of nutrients. Not a great environment for vegetables that are native to places with rich fertile soil!

This year we have a huge pile of guinea-pig poop for feeding our plants, and I’ve made a resolution to remember to water them, so hopefully our harvest will be plentiful this year!

We’ve planted spinach and rocket in an big old Weber barbecue!

We also planted tomatoes, eggplant, leeks and broccoli.

And I’m not just growing vegies! I also planted some native seeds I’ve had in the fridge for a while. I used to work in conservation and land managment at Kings Park and spent some time in the nursery there. I loved it, and I can’t wait to get the same joy in my own backyard!

Matt was happy to add some Curry Leaf Trees and Lemongrass to our backyard! He makes lots of super tasty curries, and now we have the fresh ingredients right at our back door.

It’s only been a week since we sowed all our little seeds and the babies are already starting to pop up from the soil. I love how the little seedlings unfurl from the ground and turn themselves to the sky. With all the sadness and worry about my kitties this last week I’ve really needed to see this new life forming before my eyes.

Do you grow vegies in your backyard too?

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Yadira / Jan 17 2012 1:05 pm

    I love this! I’ve always wanted to grow food but I only have a tiny space where I could put a couple of planters and it just doesn’t feel right. I dream of the day I have space to plant, the soil here is rich in general but I live in an apartment so… that will have to wait. I wish you success with this crop. Have a nice week!

  2. Ieva / Jan 16 2012 10:22 pm

    That sounds really good. I am currently growing French Sorrell (very nice for soup and expensive if bought by the punnet), Rocket, Cherry Tomatoes (in a pot) and strawberries (also in a pot – not producing much now) and Parsley. Plus some greens for the cats – Catnip, Valerian, Cat Thyme and Cat Grass (the Cat Mint just died). I had some nice passionfruit for a couple of years running, but there was not enough sun for them so they weren’t very happy. I love growing stuff in my courtyard that I can eat!!

Leave a Reply

