Skip to content
January 13, 2012 / Zoe

Feline Friday – Black Cat Edition.

I thought for unlucky Friday the 13th I would showcase the bad luck charm of the Feline world. You probably already know the story; in the middle ages poor black cats somehow became associated with witches, and so they were routinely killed off. Over the years they became, in some cultures, a general symbol of bad luck, but in others they are considered good luck! You would hope that we would have evolved past such silly superstitions, but did you know that in America black cats have half the chance of being adopted from rescues than other cats? How crazy is that!? It’s so prevalent that there’s actually a Black Cat Rescue in Boston which only fosters and adopts out black cats!

For me, the first image that comes to mind mind at the mention of a black cat is these lollies.

I used to love them so much! I love liquorice and I love cats, so to me, it’s the perfect combination. I haven’t seen them around for ages, I must track some down and see if they’re made with gelatine or not!

After lollies, the first thing I think of is, of course, the most beautiful black cat in the world, Zelda!

Zelda is the funniest little pocket rocket. She loves her Daddy fiercely and is always sad when he goes to work for weeks at a time. She loves me too, but more as a portable hot water bottle. She loves to chase Maisie and Daisy all over the house and lick inside their ears. She likes to get every toy out of her toy box and play with them one at a time. She likes to sleep in funny places, like inside the curtain (above) and in the bath and sink (below).

Zelda isn’t completely black, she has the tiniest puff of white on her chest and a little white triangle on her lower belly, which I like to tickle and call her ‘modesty patch’ until she bops me in the nose, which admittedly, I fully deserve. When she was a wee little thing (we fostered her from about 5-6 weeks) she had white edging on her ears, but sadly it faded away.

My little black imp isn’t alone in the bloggy world of cats, I can immediately think of two other lovely cats who share her looks. My brain is wired to remember cats, to be honest I’m more likely to remember your cat’s name than I am yours.

There’s this gorgeous boy named Sebby, who is lucky enough to live with an absolutely lovely couple, Kate and Reuben, who both blog over at House of Humble.

And then there’s possibly the most famous black cat in the blog world, the name sake of The Dainty Squid. When I saw this photo in my google reader I had to double take; for a moment I thought it was Zelda!  Isn’t it funny how all three of them have that little white puff on their chest, it’s so sweet!

I also have to share this photo which circulated the internet a little while ago. I just think it’s so fabulous! All those lovely black cats on leashes make me regret not leash-training my girls!

Is there a black cat in your life? Do you buy into the bad luck idea at all, or would you consider yourself lucky to have your path crossed by such a stunning creature? 

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sarah / Jan 21 2012 2:37 am

    I have a black beauty called Gabrielle, she has owned us since she was a baby and is now 13. shared our bed every night and we wouldnt have it any different. She is jet black with a few little white tufts on her chest. We are hoping to bring a little companion to share her life with, another black kitty.
    I just love those black jelly sweets, wonder where to buy some from?

    • Zoe / Jan 26 2012 10:26 am

      I’m not sure, online would be your best bet. Yum!

  2. Yadira / Jan 14 2012 10:30 am

    I really loved this post. I was so inspired that a comment would have not been enough to tell you about my cats. So here’s my post, I hope you can take a look. 😀

    http://crafty-adventures.blogspot.com/2012/01/friday-13th-3.html

  3. Annika / Jan 14 2012 2:06 am

    Hoorah for black cats! My one cat is almost-black with a cream-and-brown stripey tip on her tail, a leg that looks like it might belong to a hyena and a few tiny spots of tortoiseshell markings. Her name is Missy, and she also loves her daddy more than me! My other one, Mae, is a real all-over tortie and all mine! :o)

  4. Ieva / Jan 13 2012 9:59 pm

    All cats are beautiful (except, if I’m honest, those poor hairless ones which I feel incredibly sorry for). I had a black beauty called Serina several years ago.

  5. thebockster / Jan 13 2012 9:20 pm

    Those candies are adorable!! I’d probably keep trying to eat them, even though I’m not the hugest fan of black licorice!
    I’ve always wanted a black cat! They’re so neat looking 🙂

  6. Juani (@juaniWC) / Jan 13 2012 9:19 pm

    My fiancé and I had a black beauty for 2 years,Maya.Unfortunately,she ran away after we moved house,and we never found her.My heart is still broken over her,since she was our first ‘baby’ together.

  7. eef / Jan 13 2012 9:11 pm

    I love all kitties! I don’t care what color they are. =] Black and whites are my favorites though, probably, if I had to choose a “look”. And yes, if you have a black cat in America you need to make sure it’s inside on Halloween and Friday the 13th–some people are really weird and will hurt them. I’ve never known anyone it’s happened to, but we have always kept our cats in on those days (regardless of color) just in case.

Leave a Reply

