Skip to content
January 12, 2012 / Zoe

Ignorance Is Bliss.

We’ve decided to delay getting Zelda and Maisie tested for leukaemia for a couple of weeks. Which may seem silly, because knowing the results of the test won’t change whether they already have it or not. But I’m already not coping with Daisy’s diagnosis, I mostly just sleep and cry, and Matt is going back to work on the mines for 2 weeks tomorrow. The thought of being alone for 2 weeks with 3 newly diagnosed terminally ill cats is too much to bare, and the slight possibility of good news isn’t one I’m willing to take.

I don’t deal with stress very well, I never have. My number one coping strategy is avoidance, and I’m very good at it. Finding healthier ways to deal with stress is the main thing I’ve been working on with my psychologist for the last 3 years, and for every day stresses I’m getting better at thinking realistically about the situation and practising relaxation techniques. But for something like this I just don’t know where to start, so I go to sleep instead.

Thank you for all the lovely comments and emails, I will reply to you all when I can gather my thoughts. I appreciate your love and support so very much.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Yadira / Jan 14 2012 10:01 am

    I remember last year when you had such a difficult time with Daisie’s health. I couldn’t give you as much as I wished I could because of some economical issues I was going through but what I gave came from my heart. I seriously hope that these tests come back negative as impossible as it may sound right now. If you ever need anything you think I might help you with don’t hesitate to ask.

    -Yadira

  2. fatcatfromvox / Jan 14 2012 3:12 am

    *hugs* Let it lie for a little while, give yourself time to accept it before starting to deal.

Leave a Reply

