Skip to content
January 10, 2012 / Zoe

And Again.

I’ve been putting off writing this post. If I write it down then it’s real. I did tweet it though, so I guess it’s already real.

Daisy has Feline Leukaemia.

Which is spread through saliva. So it’s highly possible that Maisie and Zelda have it too.

I can’t even explain how sick I feel. And me being me, incredibly guilty. We don’t know how she caught it. She might have had it since birth, or she might have contracted it from one of our fosters. Zelda is vaccinated but when she came into out foster care she wasn’t. And Maisie and Daisy aren’t because the vet told us inside cats didn’t need it. I wish we had done our research.

What does it mean? For now, nothing. We wait and see. There’s no treatment, it’s just a matter of time. It’s an auto-immune disease, so she may get a tumour or an infection, or she may live symptom-free for several years. I haven’t done any research yet. I’m too afraid of falling apart.

Zelda and Maisie will be tested this week, and I’ll keep you informed. Please be thinking of my poor girls. I don’t know what they or we could have done to deserve this last year.

And please please if you comment don’t tell me any awful stories of your own cat with Leukaemia. When Daisy had her operation I had a few comments along the lines of, ‘my cat ate string and she died.’ Not helpful. I can’t deal with that at the moment. I can’t deal with anything. When I see a cat, one of my own or on the internet, I burst into tears.

I’m trying to stay positive but I’m struggling to find anything to be positive about. The only peace I can find is that my girls are oblivious to what’s going on. All I can do it make sure they’re as happy and healthy as possible.

17 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Rachele / Jan 17 2012 5:11 am

    Hugs! I am really sorry to hear about your kitties.

  2. fatcatfromvox / Jan 14 2012 3:09 am

    I’m so sorry to hear that – but consider what a safe, healthy life she has with you (compared to if she was a feral, or lived with less responsible owners): there’s every reason to believe that she will have a long, full, happy and healthy life with you! Breathe, take it one day at the time, and shower them with love (as if I need to tell you that!). I’m keeping my fingers crossed that all will be well.

  3. Wendy / Jan 13 2012 1:08 pm

    So sorry to hear this. 😦 I read your recent post before this one saying you’re waiting to get your other kitties tested…I think I understand. I’m not in the same spot as you, but if I were I would probably wait too! In fact, I would probably go pick up my cat and just snuggle for a while! I hope she has a long symptom free life!!!! 🙂

  4. Annika / Jan 13 2012 12:09 am

    Oh no! I am so sorry to hear this! All the best for Daisy and your other girls!!!

  5. All my loving & healing thoughts go to sweet Daisy and to you! I’ll pray for Maisie & Zelda.
    I have no words.
    I keep trying to think of what to say that can be helpful, but I know that the best thing is to just hold your little fur babies & love them. And you do that so very well, dear Zoe!
    xox

  6. Cara / Jan 11 2012 12:28 pm

    Dang. DAISY. I meant Daisy. I really did read this post, I promise! I just suck at. You know. Rhymes and such. Blarg. 😦

  7. Cara / Jan 11 2012 12:26 pm

    (hug) Zoe, that is such awful news! She really could be asymptomatic for years. I’ll be praying to the cat gods for that. And the other cats might not have it – Maisie might have one of the kinds that is non-transmissible, or your other cats might already be immune to it!

    Please know that I am thinking happy kitty thoughts for you and your feline brood, and I am giving my cat extra loving. ❤

  8. Rachel / Jan 11 2012 6:51 am

    oh no 😦 I am keeping my fingers crossed for Z & M. No matter what the outcome, remember that even if their lives do turn out to be a little shorter than expected, they have been and will continue to be awesome, fun- and love-filled lives thanks to you and Matt – not all kitties are as lucky as your three sweethearts. I know it isn’t much consolation though. Will be thinking of you over here xxx

  9. Tegan Carter / Jan 11 2012 6:05 am

    You’ve kindly just wished me and the family love and strength for what we have just endured but now this is our turn.
    The news may sound devastating and scary but Daisy is still fighting strong (remember her strength through the recent incident). She has a loving mummy and daddy that are giving her a life rich in cuddles and a fun, cosy home.
    Thoughts are with you and best wishes for the other kittens.
    Big hugs xx

  10. ladykatie32 / Jan 11 2012 4:27 am

    Thinking of you & sending good thoughts your way & to your sweet kitties. Whatever happens, I know your kitties are so lucky to have a loving mother like you to make their lives happy.

  11. Allispin / Jan 11 2012 2:08 am

    so sorry to hear this. wishing you all the best. just keep loving the heck outta those kitties!

  12. Lily / Jan 10 2012 11:31 pm

    Zoe you know already that I am praying for your sweeties and for you. I am praying that the other two don’t have it and can be vaccinated, and that sweet Daisy lives a good and healthy life despite her diagnosis.


    Lily-Thinking Thoughts

  13. Juani / Jan 10 2012 10:28 pm

    This is horrible news!I am a natural born pessimist (I’d like to say realist,but since I tend to expect the worst in most situations,pessimist is probably more correct).But when it comes to my cats (and other cats in general) I always expect the best,and foresee only good things.Therefor,your babies will be just fine.

    They certainly have the best momma ever,who loves them so deeply and always does whatever she can for them.They are truly blessed.

    PS.I know nothing anyone says can make you feel better right now,but I would still like to wish you strength and courage,so you can get through this difficult time!

  14. eef-ink / Jan 10 2012 9:22 pm

    oh, no, i hope they will all be okay! best wishes!

  15. Vixie / Jan 10 2012 9:18 pm

    Oh Zoe, I’m so sorry to hear that. Based on past events, however, your girls are fighters – they know how to be strong and you just have to try to stay strong for them too. Huge hugs to you all xxxxx

Trackbacks

  1. One year later. « A Giraffe in a Scarf
  2. Ignorance Is Bliss. « A Giraffe in a Scarf

Leave a Reply

