Skip to content
January 8, 2012 / Zoe

Brownie Bottom Peanut Butter ‘Cheesecake’.

What the what!?

Holy hell, this pie was delicious! Thick fudgey brownie on the bottom, creamy rich ‘cheesecake’ on the top, and cashew cream on the side.  Mega drool.

Matt was gifted a small bounty of books for Christmas, and ‘Vegan Pie In the Sky‘ was included.

Matt doesn’t really bake sweet things, that’s my department, so we joked that the book wasn’t actually a gift for him, his gift was the fact that I would bake him delicious pies!

The book is fantastic, it includes a huge range of pies to try. I actually started to get a bit panicky because there were just so many recipes I want to taste! I’m not vegan, I’m vegetarian, but pretty much all my baking is vegan because I share it with my vegan boy! It really irks me when vegan recipes are merely regular recipes with vegan substitutes, like a cheesecake made with Tofutti ‘cream cheese.’ Tofutti cheesecakes are totally delicious, but I can work out that conversion myself! These recipes are made with tofu and mashed banana and coconut cream and agar agar powder; they’re recipes I couldn’t simply work out myself and that makes it so much more fun for me!

I think 2012 may be dubbed the “Year of the Pie”!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Max-Gratitude / Jan 9 2012 3:46 pm

    Omg. I have two of their other books and now I am insanely jealous of you! One day I’m going to have to visit and I’ll bring cookies and cupcakes and you can make pie. It’ll be delicious!

  2. thebockster / Jan 9 2012 6:15 am

    Oh man!! That sounds amazing!
    My favourite vegan pie recipe has to be for a buttermilk pie- instead of making a custard, you simply blend soft tofu and apple cider vinegar! It’s SO MUCH EASIER!

Leave a Reply

