Skip to content
January 6, 2012 / Zoe

Feline Friday – My Story

Feline Friday is a new weekly feature on my little bloggy! I have a bit of a theory involving bloggers, cats and being introverted; introverts tend to like cats, bloggers tend to be introverts. Therefore, bloggers like cats! I have the data to back it up too: 1,2,3,4,5.

Feline Friday will be a weekly mixture of stories and photos of my own cats, cat-related goodies from internet-land, and guest posts from you guys! Get at me if you’d like to contribute a story about your own cat, like how they came into your life or a funny little anecdote.

——————

For the first Feline Friday I thought I’d begin with my own cat story. I wish I’d been more organised and had my Mum send some baby pics, but oh well! So instead I’ll intersperse this story with photos of my current kitties and previous foster kittens.

{Daisy and Charlie – both 6 months}

The first cat in my life was Cherie. She was a pure white lovely, who used to help me sweep the bricks. Yes, when I was three my two favourite activities were sweeping bricks and pulling cat tails. I think we were amicable enough though, because she could have easily escaped my grasp if she’d wished.

{Maisie and Daisy hanging out – 18 and 6 months}

My other childhood cats were Puss I, Puss II and Emma. Puss I and II were big ginger boys and Emma was a beautiful Siamese girl who was left by our neighbours when they moved, along with a few poultry who also found a home with us. All three of them enjoyed sunning themselves on the gravel road outside our house. We used to worry about the ginger boys because they were camouflaged on the road, but it was sweet Emma who met her fate there. We were so sad to lose her. She was mainly an outside cat, and I have strong memories of Dad letting her inside while Mum was in the hospital birthing my brother. We were so excited to have her inside! It was only with the next cat that the idea of an inside-only cat occurred to me, but now I wouldn’t have it any other way.

{Dorothy and Oliver – 10 weeks – getting a bath from Zelda}

Coalie was the next cat to find a place inside my heart. She nearly died when she was bitten by a snake, and that’s when she, and all my future cats, became inside-only cats. She was officially my sister’s, but I was the one who faked a sickness so I could stay home with her on the first day with us! Lucie tried to dob me in, and I suspect Mum also knew, but thankfully my Mum believed in the occasionally mental health day off school. I was 13 and it was at about this age that I firmly believed myself to be a Dog Person (the horror!). I think this was firmly a matter of wanting to be different to my older sister. Now, I do like dogs, they’re sweet dumb creatures. But cats are cunning, sleek and beautiful. I think the fact that they won’t be swayed by little bits of food to do humiliating tricks says it all! That being said, when we have the space we will be adding a pup to our brood!

{Coalie – RIP}

So by the age of 17 I’d worked out that cats were my thing. And with perfect timing my friend’s brother’s cat had kittens right about the time I moved out of home. I wouldn’t recommend someone get a kitten the moment they become independent, but that’s hindsight for you. Morgen was my bestest friend, and I soon acquired another kitten. I thought he would keep Morgen occupied during the day, but it was a disaster! Moses was the same age as Morgen, but he was HUGE. He chased her constantly and I had to keep them separated most of the time. Which was hard while living in a share house! Soon after I had to move house and the cats moved in with my parents. Morgen is still happily there, in complete control of my Dad, and Moses had a name change to Monty and lives with my grandparents. My Grandad LOVES him, he says he’s the best present he’s ever received. It’s funny how things always work out in the end.

{Morgen – 3 years}

Fast forward a couple of years and I’m living on the other side of the country with a cat hating boy! That was 5 years ago, and as you can tell, I managed to convert him to the cat side of life. Or rather, Maisie did.

{Matt and Maisie – 6 months}

Maisie is a pure-bred Russian Blue, and her full name is Kimara Sirishka Thomasia. Quite a mouthful! The first two names are from the breeder, and I chose Thomasia; Maisie for short. I am an absolute advocate for adopting kittens from rescues, but I also think registered breeders have their place. And I always wanted a Russian, they’re so beautiful! When we first brought her home Matt didn’t want her in the bedroom. I agreed, fully believing that she’d soon weasel her way into his heart! It didn’t take long, soon he was snuggling her as much as I was.

{Maisie’s Mumma and siblings – 8 weeks}

A year later I started to search for another blue kitten. I went for a rescue kitten this time because I didn’t mind if it took months to find my dream kitten. It took about an hour of browsing Pet Rescue to find him. A 2 year-old Russian Blue! I called, but he’d already been adopted… I was so upset! It was only a couple of days later that we found Daisy, the biggest scaredy-kitten in the world. Daisy is short for Dasypogon Gretel Fuzzbutt (Thomasia and Dasypogon are plant names by the way, I’m a plant nerd).

{Maisie and Daisy’s first meeting – 15 months and 12 weeks}

We adopted Daisy from a rescue called SAFE, and a couple of months later we became cat foster carers and I began this blog! We had Brandon, Mitzi, Dove and Romeo, then Charlie, then Henry and Morgan, then we had Luna, Norbit and Temperance breifly, and then finally we got to name some fosters ourselves; the gorgeous Oliver, Dorothy and Pippi. And oh… I think I’m forgetting someone… of course, Zelda! Our sweet and gorgeous foster failure. The one we couldn’t possibly let go.

{Zelda – 12ish weeks}

So that’s my story. The beginning of it anyway. I know that more cats will continue to weave their way through my life until its very end.

Someone who may have never been fortunate enough to gain a cat’s trust might call them snide and aloof. But if you’re lucky enough they will reveal their true personality to you. Cats are sweet and intelligent. They will love you with all their might, and yet respect your space. They are careful, purposeful and delightful creatures, and I wouldn’t wish a life lacking cats on my worst enemy.

{Mitzi and Me}

The love of a cat is the most precious gift. Appreciate it every day.

12 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jess / Jun 17 2014 4:41 pm

    Our kitties are related! House (my cat) is a Kimara too 🙂

    • Zoe / Jun 17 2014 8:25 pm

      That’s awesome!

  2. Amiee / Jan 10 2012 3:09 pm

    Can you believe Temperance is still looking for her forever home? I haven’t heard about Norbit in a while but I still see Luna’s mum so I know she is doing well.

  3. Jodie / Jan 8 2012 5:31 pm

    eeek cuteness overload!!
    I love cats too, Ive had them in my life since I was born and I can see them staying in my life until I die! I agree though how can people NOT LOVE THEM?! hehe self confessed crazy cat lady right here (and cos I have 3 cat tattoos so many other crazy cat people talk to me in the streets…let me tell you there are ALOT of awesome cat loving people out there…even some creepy strange ones too haha)

  4. Ieva / Jan 8 2012 3:24 pm

    I love Feline Fridays, and greatly enjoyed hearing about the cats in your life. I have a particularly soft spot for ginger boys, and have had four in my life, the first one being the big ginger stray (called Rizhik or ginger in Russian) that adopted my Grandmother. He didn’t like anyone else much, but he didn’t mind me (I was about 7 or 8 at the time). Of course, we have Henry and Morgan (and Indie) in common because they were amongst my first SAFE rescues and were how we met in the first place. Looking back on it – my first rescue kitten was when I was 13. We called her “Bunny” (because of her large ears and small face), she was dumped in a parking lot at a swimming pool and I brought her home wrapped in a towel. She ended up being my Mum’s girl. We are a family of cat people 🙂 and nearly all of our cats are rescues (+ 1 rescue dog).

  5. Annika / Jan 8 2012 3:59 am

    I like your theory and I am another good example for it! This is a lovely post and I will be looking forward to Fridays even more than ususal now! :o) You’ve had so many cat friends in your life! I could look at these photos for hours. Oh, no, wait, I’m gonna go find my own cats and demand cuddles! ❤

  6. Katie / Jan 7 2012 6:29 am

    Hehe, I think your theory about bloggers being cat people is spot on! I love this feature idea. I can never understand people who don’t like cats – they are cute, cuddly, clever, clean and quiet – what’s not to like?!

    • Zoe / Jan 7 2012 6:33 am

      Exactly!

  7. Zoey @ Good Googs / Jan 7 2012 6:16 am

    I love the rant in Meet the Parents about being a cat person over being a dog person. Loved reading this story.

  8. Juani / Jan 6 2012 10:23 pm

    I hate to say it,but I immediately dislike anyone who says they don’t like cats,lol!It’s just unfathomable to me how anyone in their right mind could not like a cat.Sure,their not as touchy feely as dogs are,but their also a lot cleaner,quieter and less needy than dogs are.I love my 4 catbabies so much,and can’t imagine life without a cat (or 4!).

    My fiancé also started out a ‘dog person’,but I soon converted him into a full-on cat person,who loves cuddling and pampering our cats almost as much as I do.

    • Zoey @ Good Googs / Jan 7 2012 6:15 am

      I don’t know you but I love you! I’ve often said that – I don’t get how people can not like cats!

  9. Courtney / Jan 6 2012 10:15 pm

    That picture of the kittens nursing is the cutest thing ever! This is a great feature idea. Looking forward to future Feline Fridays!

Leave a Reply

