Skip to content
January 5, 2012 / Zoe

Appliqué Personalised Christmas Stockings!

Last Christmas post, I promise!

A couple of days before Christmas I realised what we were missing… our own stockings! As I’ve mentioned before, I thought this Christmas was special because it was just us, and we were building our own traditions. In my family we use actual stockings! Which is totally awesome, let me tell you! You can stuff a lot of goodies into one of those, and when you find it on Christmas morning it’s all lumpy and bumpy with presents.

But that’s what my family do, not us! So I made us both some appliqué stockings, and I plan on adding more bits and pieces to them over the years. And yes, as I made them I was totally imagining the other names I’ll be adding to a stocking over the years, and making a mental note to not give any of our kids very long names. Leo, Sage, and Ruby it is! Four letters or less!

Naturally, mine has a giraffe, and a bonus okapi. The fabric is from Matt’s Mum, it was so beautiful I didn’t want to cut into it!

For Matt I chose a Rhino, he has no particular affiliation with Rhinos, but I think it’s cute! I also put animals in all his letters because he loves animals!

I enjoyed doing the appliqué, but I do find it a little stressful! I had to do a little bit of unpicking to get it right. I loved picking the contrasting thread colours for the different coloured letters.

Was something special missing from your Christmas this year? These stockings are 55X25cm (21.5X10in) and a basic stocking costs $35 + postage to wherever you happen to be in the world. 

I’ll take orders for personalised stockings, guaranteed delivery by Christmas, and probably much sooner! Remember, it’s only 354 days until the big day! 

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Kim at Hobzy / Sep 13 2012 8:16 pm

    How nice! We’d love to see your projects on Hobzy, where you can share and connect with others who share your hobby.

  2. ejorpin / Jan 8 2012 10:51 am

    These are so awesome! I love the simple linen (?) fabric you’ve used for the body, works so well with the applique.

    I never had stockings as part of my xmas traditions, but the step-sons always have, so now stockings are part of my xmas too! At the moment we are using some cheap and nasty ones the boys picked out at a Hong Kong street market, but I really really feel like I should make some for next year…

  3. Ieva / Jan 6 2012 10:41 am

    They are gorgeous. Tina has taken over the bag you made – she loves it and she is still sleeping on it!! I expect if Tiggy sleeps on it, she will get cross and then she might stop 🙂 Meanwhile, I am leaving it where it is, it is after all mainly hers!!

  4. Bekuh / Jan 6 2012 9:00 am

    Gorgeous stockings! I just got married myself and creating new traditions together is the best.

  5. thebockster / Jan 6 2012 6:50 am

    These are adorable! I want two!!! I’ll email you 🙂

  6. twistedsistersdesign / Jan 6 2012 3:45 am

    They are so pretty 🙂

  7. eef-ink / Jan 5 2012 9:28 pm

    oh wow! beautiful job! this year was the first year I celebrated Hanukkah (and still Christmas, of course). Anthony and I are slowly building traditions. =]

Leave a Reply

