Skip to content
January 2, 2012 / Zoe

Birthday Kitties!!

Today is the birthday of one beautiful kitty named Maisie…,

…and another gorgeous kitty named Daisy!

We’re kind of guessing that today’s the day for Daisy, and I think they like sharing a birthday. Maisie is turning 3, and Daisy is turning 2! And little Zelda is 18 months…,

…3 kittens in 3 years, what were we thinking!?

They both had very exciting days! They napped in their favourite boxes, they chased each other up and down the house, they watched the guinea-pig out the window, and then they took an afternoon siesta on the bed base, where I took these photos. (Why just a bed base you ask? The mattress is on the floor in the lounge room in front of the air-con!)

Both my grey girls have had a really rough year, and it certainly took its toll on me too, both of them are incredibly lucky to be alive!

If you’re new around here, here’s a quick recap…

In February Maisie was completely emaciated, and it turned out she had very advanced diabetes. Her blood sugar was so high that it took days of insulin treatment to bring it back down, and the vet didn’t think she would make it. After 7 months of insulin injections exactly 12 hours apart, and special fancy expensive food it went into remission! Amazing! I was super strict about what she ate, and the timing of her injections, and it paid off! She’s getting a glucose curve done on Friday to make sure her blood is still fine, but I’m confident it will be.

I thought that that would be the most stressful period of my life! But no, Daisy had more in store for me!

In June Daisy ate a piece of string, a seemingly innocuous event, right? NO! The thread tangled up in her intestines, causing them to completely shut down. By the time she was operated on the thread had sliced through the wall of her intestine, and the surrounding tissue was dying. The dead tissue was removed and the two ends stitched together. Needless to day, the vet was not confident! We were allowed to take her home to see how she would do, and when she pooped for the first time it was one of the happiest moments of my life! I laughed and cried and hugged her as tight as I dared with all her stitches! It was several days of celebrating every bite she ate, and every poop she pooped. I still find it hard to believe she survived it, and the whole incident also reinforced how amazing people are. Through the Raising For Daisy Sale I raised over half of her $4000 vet bill. SO. AMAZING!

So a stressful year for them, and a doubly stressful year for me. My heart still tightens when I think about nearly losing them much too soon, and I occasionally burst into tears when I think about life without them. All three of my girls are my little baby kitties and I love them so!

Happy Birthday my dear Maisie-Moo and Daisy-Boo, please make this year the healthiest one yet! 

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. deerdonna / Jan 3 2012 1:18 pm

    yaya happy birthday kitties! i love them all! xoxox

  2. Max-Gratitude / Jan 3 2012 11:02 am

    I remember all the kitty problkems you had last year, and I am so glad for you, and for them, that they recovered so well! I reckon it must be, in part, because of how much you love them 🙂 I hope they have a healthy 2012 and stay out of mischief (and your cotton supply!)

    xx Zoe M

  3. Ieva / Jan 3 2012 10:21 am

    Happy Birthday to the girls!! I’m so glad they are going well now.

  4. Jayne Watkins (@jay_latte) / Jan 2 2012 10:33 pm

    Nawww, they are looking so well! Stunning kitties. Happy birthday to them both!

  5. Vixie / Jan 2 2012 9:04 pm

    Reading this again brought tears to my eyes remembering all the stuff from the last year – but they are looking grand and will all have a wonderful year this year, I’m sure!

    Happy Birthday girlies!

    Vixie xxxxx

Leave a Reply

