Skip to content
December 30, 2011 / Zoe

The Coolest Present – 1962 Agfa Silette 35mm Camera.

My main present this year was Christmas itself. The cabin, plus having the cats in boarding for 5 days, wasn’t cheap, but oh so worth it!  But of course Matt also got me some things to unwrap on the day, and my family posted a few things over, even though we will celebrate Christmas in March when we’re all together. I was going to do one long post with everything, but I decided this beauty needed a post of her own.

I positively squealed when I unwrapped this gift from Matt, a perfect condition 1962 Agfa Silette I!

Isn’t she so beautiful!? Analog photography is a new found love for me and Matt, and we now have about 10 cameras between us. This lovely is in wonderful condition, especially considering she’ll be 50 next year! It’s German made and so simple to use, there’s a dial for zoom, a dial for shutter speed (125 is the fastest she’ll go!), and a dial for aperture, that’s it! And I just love how it screws into the leather case! I wouldn’t normally like leather in my house, but this cow has been dead for 50 years so I’ll allow it.

I love vintage, but I love it doubly when it has a little story of where it came from. Inside the case is the name of a previous owner, and the delightfully scrawled “do not pinch!”

It seems to be in perfect working order, but I will find out for sure when I finish off the roll of film and get the photos developed!

What was your favourite gift this year?

11 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. that is one sexy little camera! cannot wait to see what photos you’ve taken with it!
    extra awesome that the case was written in! makes it have even more of a story. 😀

  2. ejorpin / Dec 31 2011 9:32 pm

    Oh that camera is a thing of beauty! I can’t wait to see some pics from it.

    My favourite present this year was a fixed lens for my Canon DSLR, it produces the most amazing depth of field – I am having SO much fun playing with it!

    • Zoe / Jan 1 2012 5:58 am

      Oooh nice!

  3. nova / Dec 31 2011 9:29 am

    Oh crap, that’s the coolest! Nice!

  4. Jenny / Dec 31 2011 8:38 am

    So cool/cute! My best one was a giant bag of wool, twas amahzing!

    • Zoe / Dec 31 2011 9:18 am

      Nice! I would love that too!

  5. eef / Dec 31 2011 1:05 am

    omg, so cool! it took me a minute to figure out that “pinch” meant steal. lol i love old cameras, and this one is awesome!

    • Zoe / Dec 31 2011 9:20 am

      Ha, I should have translated that Aussie-ism!

    • Alfredo / May 27 2013 12:03 pm

      Thank you eef! I would never figured out for myself!
      pinch = steal? haha great!

Trackbacks

  1. Reminiscing: An ode to Velskoen Drive-In | findingjozi
  2. More presents! « A Giraffe in a Scarf

Leave a Reply

