Skip to content
December 29, 2011 / Zoe

My Christmas View.

It was amazing.

Matt and I spent Christmas in the sweetest little cabin in the South-West of WA. It was just the two of us, which made me feel sad occasionally, but also thrilled that our family, that is the two of us, were building our own Christmas traditions together.

We watched Christmas specials of our favourite shows on Christmas Eve, The Vicar of Dibley, Community and Psych, and had a big cooked breakfast the next morning. We sat on the porch and listened to birds, ate spinach pies for lunch and then went for a drive to find things to photograph. For dinner we barbecued a pile of vegies and soy-sausages and sat on the porch until the light faded and the mozzies came out. The only thing I don’t want to recreate next year is when I fell down the steps while looking up at the stars.

I grew up in countryside like this, although on the other side of Australia, and being there for a few days just reinforced how much I want to be there again. I realised that all I want in life in a front porch looking over trees to drink my morning coffee on. At present my front porch overlooks a busy bus stop. Not the peaceful and serene start to the day I’m looking for.

I’ll blog again soon and show you the gifts which I gave and received. Fans of vintage and film prepare to be jealous!

How was your Christmas Day? Did you spend it with your family and friends? Did you have a busy day or a lazy one? Most importantly, did you have fun!?

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lily / Dec 30 2011 2:24 am

    We are starting new traditions too. This year was a bit harder than I expected it to be. But it was a fun time and we are figuring out what we want to do and what we don’t want to do. It is scary and yet fun to set new traditions.

    I love your view, which for me would be a great holiday, but I love cities so I would rather live in the city and visit the country.

    • Zoe / Dec 30 2011 6:59 pm

      I’m the opposite, I do love the city but I’d much rather just visit occasionally than live here! I hope you Christmas was more fun than scary. xox

  2. eef / Dec 29 2011 8:59 pm

    sounds like the beginning of a great tradition! we had christmas at my parents’ house, and my whole family was there, so it was a lot of fun!

    • Zoe / Dec 29 2011 9:40 pm

      Sounds wonderful! I’ll be seeing all of my family in March, I can’t wait!

Trackbacks

  1. More presents! « A Giraffe in a Scarf

Leave a Reply

