Skip to content
November 28, 2011 / Zoe

Doll Blankets

When my Nana was teaching me to knit about 15 years ago I would knit as much as I could for the length of my visit and then she would cast off for me and send me home with a little rectangle of knitting. I was always bummed that I could never even get close to knitting a scarf in the time that I was there, but she would reassure me and tell me I was knitting a great doll blanket.

This is my pretty crocheted doll blanket.

(I’m sorry if you don’t give a shit about crochet. Here’s a super cute cat blog to look at.)

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Flamingo Dancer / Nov 28 2011 5:21 pm

    I learnt to crochet my making rugs – human size. My largest rug covers a double bed and daughter1 asked it she might keep it and so it is hers now. A good way to use up wool scraps too. It is fun and a great thing to do in winter as your work keeps you warm!

    • Zoe / Nov 29 2011 6:56 pm

      Wow! That would have taken forever! I’m just taking it one doll blanket at a time, and working my way up to people blankets!

  2. ejorpin / Nov 28 2011 12:02 pm

    I really admire your persistence with this! I’ve been wanting to learn to crochet for years – I’ve tried books, videos, blogs. In Hong Kong I even convinced my Cantonese teacher (who was a great crafter) to extend the lessons so she could start teaching me some crochet basics! All of which ended in tears and frustrations. But one day, one day, I too hope to also crochet a dolls blanket…

    • Zoe / Nov 29 2011 6:57 pm

      Ah, you can do it! It is really confusing, and I’ve wanted to throw things a few times, but it’s slowly clicking in my brain!

  3. Lily / Nov 28 2011 10:33 am

    You are doing much, much better than I could ever do. I gave up on it years ago!

Trackbacks

  1. Round and round. « A Giraffe in a Scarf

Leave a Reply

