Skip to content
November 27, 2011 / Zoe

Curvey Crochet

Can any crochet ladies or gentlemen tell me why this keeps happening?

It’s supposed to be a rectangle, but no amount of tugging and pleading will lend it to be any other shape but a rainbow.

I have a feeling it’s because my tension is too tight. I have the same problem with knitting, I have to really focus on not pulling the wool tight after every stitch. When I first started knitting I wrapped my index finger in masking tape because it was getting a welt from having to shove the needle back through the loop. It took me a while to figure out that that’s not meant to happen. And now I have a sore thumb from pulling the wool over the hook and my rectangles look like rainbows.

I’m thinking I should start doing yoga or meditation before crafting, so I can release all my tension and stop taking it out on the wool.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lauren Williams / Nov 27 2011 11:51 pm

    I sometimes find that this happens when I’m not chaining between stitches 🙂

  2. eef / Nov 27 2011 12:32 pm

    your foundation chain is too tight. if you have trouble loosening it up, you can do a chainless foundation—or, you can use a bigger hook for the foundation chain, and then switch to a smaller one for the rows (i do this sometimes, because i still always start out tight and get looser as i go)

    here’s a link to chainless foundations: http://crochetpatterncompanion.blogspot.com/2011/05/which-foundation-stitch.html

    hope this helps!!! =]

Leave a Reply

