Skip to content
November 26, 2011 / Zoe

My First Crochet

One of my big crafty goals for this year was to learn to crochet. So leave it to me to wait until November to even buy a hook. My main goal was to attend a market, but Matt working away most of the year made that a little difficult for me, being agoraphobic and not having a driving license and all. So bump that to next year. 2012 will be the year of markets!

Anyway. My first crochet! Some very chainy chain stitch.

The blur in the background is Gilmore Girls. The perfect show to learn with.

So obviously I still have a way to go before I can call myself a fully fledged crochet lady. But I have 7 seasons of Gilmore Girls, so give me a couple of days.

Thinking of taking up the hook? Here’s some inspiration.

This adorable little guy was a gift from my crafty friend Amanda. Like him? Check out her Etsy store! There’s some other crochet critters, as well as a bunch of fabric buttons.

Here is some other inspiration I found on Etsy, click on the photo to go to the listing.

My main goal is make a big granny square blanket for the couch. I just think they’re so beautiful and I love all the possible colour combinations!

Happy hooking, my friends!

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lauren Williams / Nov 27 2011 11:54 pm

    I have tried crochet and knitting but prefer crochet. I find it a lot easier to get into a rhythm, and often if you make mistakes it is very easy to sort them out. The granny square blanket looks fantastic but would take such a long time. I have made a granny square lampshade which you can see on my blog. Good to find an inspiring blog, thank you

    http://www.threadandbutter.co.uk

  2. Shelly aka Fourteen Countess / Nov 26 2011 9:58 am

    You’re inspiring me! I am a basic knitter but I REALLY want to learn crochet — it seems so versatile! Good luck with it!

    • Sally Oakley (@SallyRavels) / Nov 26 2011 11:24 am

      Shelly, I’m a knitter now, but I first learnt to crochet. It is a wonderful additional yarn-skill. There are things that crochet just *works* well for, and other things that are better suited to knitting. And I think learning to crochet is probably easier than learning to knit. I would recommend it; so much fun!

    • Zoe / Nov 27 2011 11:55 am

      I’m a basic knitter too, and it hasn’t been too hard to learn. The only trouble is that the wool keeps ending up in the wrong hand! In crochet you hold it in the left hand!

  3. Sally Oakley (SallyRavels) / Nov 26 2011 9:10 am

    Yay Zoe! I’m really chuffed for you. Have fun!

Trackbacks

  1. Hip to be square. « A Giraffe in a Scarf

Leave a Reply

