Skip to content
November 8, 2011 / Zoe

A new tattoo.

For Christmas this year I decided to buy Matt a tattoo. But considering I have no income except for my Etsy store, which sadly can not pay for our collective tattoo habits just yet, for the past several months I’ve been doing online surveys and saving all my $1 and $2 rewards to buy my boy a little bit of ink. Or a lot of ink, actually. And why did we do this Christmas present in November? Well Matt’s good friend, an amazing tattoo artist, recently returned from floating around the world and he couldn’t wait.

But first, me! What does a tattoo addict do if their boy is getting a big ol’ chunk of arm covered? Well they get a little something they’ve been thinking of getting for 6 years, of course! This barely counts as a tattoo, it took all of 5 minutes and hurt considerably less than when Maisie kneads my chestal area. But I like it, and it makes a nice addition until I can afford to continue my collection, currently at 11, ranging from little music notes on my collar bones, to a dagger and bow on the tops of the feet.

This is on the inside of my forearm towards my elbow. If you know the quote I will want to hug and kiss you. It’s from the T.S Eliot poem East Coker, which I first read a long long time ago.

Do not let me hear
Of the wisdom of old men, but rather of their folly,
Their fear of fear and frenzy, their fear of possession,
Of belonging to another, or to others, or to God.
The only wisdom we can hope to acquire
Is the wisdom of humility: humility is endless.

Just a little reminder to myself that being humble is the most important thing we can learn in this life.

And I just know you’re super curious about what Matt got too.

When he first told me about his idea I was heartbroken that he could feel that way. On first glance, is that not the most depressing quote you’ve ever read? The years are raining down? Life is so awful that it just rains down, just one long miserable road to death?? But then he sent me the whole song and I understood why he wanted it.

You better get moving kid, cause time’s a wastin’.
You got the power… but only if you know you do.
The path is dim and twisted but there’s nothing stopping you.
Too many love songs. Too many unanswered prayers.
Nobody is gonna save you cause nobody cares.
The years are raining down.
You gotta find your own way out.

Matt’s starting his Masters next year, and hopefully this will inspire him to work harder than ever, because time’s a wastin’ to get where he wants to in this one life he has.

(Just quietly, I’m not a huge fan of the skull. It’s an amazing design, yes, but it’s a skull that I have to look at for the rest of time. But it’s his arm, not mine.)

All that beautiful work took about 4 hours which left me some time to wander around Fremantle. Fremantle is a suburb of Perth, but really it’s a whole other world. I spent the longest time exploring the most amazing second-hand bookstore, it’s just completely packed with books, with little corners to get lost in.

Here’s what I came home with. A few nice additions to my bedside table.

We both fell asleep at 9pm last night. I was completely exhausted from being in public all day, one of the downfalls of being a highly introverted social phobic, and Matt was also wiped out from being pounded with a needle for hours. Despite the exhaustion, it was still the most wonderful day. One I hope we can replicate soon, with me being the one getting the big tattoo next! (But I’m not holding my breath on that one…)

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lucie / Nov 15 2011 5:40 pm

    Cool tats! I am thinking of getting some Miami Ink when I go there in January… apparently, there are so many artists there that it is really cheap!

  2. deer donna / Nov 10 2011 9:40 am

    wow who is the artist? my boyfriend would love this!

  3. Annika / Nov 9 2011 3:59 am

    At least the skull is averting his eyes… :o) I love both of your tattoos!

  4. Yadira / Nov 8 2011 9:12 pm

    Your boyfriend’s tattoo is AWESOME!!! I’m not that much into skulls but I love the old school feel of the piece.

Leave a Reply

