Skip to content
September 16, 2011 / Zoe

Mail From My Mumma

My Mum and Dad recently visited the north west of the US. It was Mum’s first time out of Australia, and from what I could tell from the hastily written emails and postcards, she had the most wonderful time! She said American money looks fake, because all the notes look the same, and she didn’t know how much a dime was. It took them a little while to realised that the toilet was called a restroom, and they also had trouble finding groceries, because they never thought to look in a ‘drug store.’ It’s strange to think that even though we speak the same language, there’s still many language barriers with America! In addition to the language differences, no one could understand their thick Aussie accents, which I find bizarre. Because, Americans are the ones with the accent. Right?

Anyway. It seems the best thing about America is the fabric stores. Or quilt shops as they apparently call them. The fabric is half the price as it is here and the range is incredible. Of course, having the most awesomest of Mums, I was sent a little package of lovely fabrics.

This one you probably won’t see in the store. Actually you definitely won’t, because I don’t want to share. I think I should finally make myself something!

It’s by the same designer as the other catty fabric I’ve used in the past, Alexander Henry. Now, I know nothing about Alexander Henry except that he designed those two fabrics, but I think I would like to marry him. Or lock him in my basement and have him design fabric just for me… Either way.

This is another you probably won’t see in the shop, unless I can buy some more. I have seen these lovely giraffes around the interweb, so I’m thrilled to finally have them neatly folded on my fabric shelves.

And a few other pretties.

I’m a lucky lady to have a Mum who shares my love of fabric! Or is she a lucky lady to have a daughter who inherited her love of fabric? I guess we’re just both lucky!

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Flamingo Dancer / Sep 18 2011 8:23 am

    I would have to keep all those fabrics – and I can’t even sew!

  2. iMadeItSo / Sep 17 2011 10:44 am

    oh, those prints are lovely! fun fabrics, for sure.

    i was reading through an old post of mine and came across a comment you left for me there. i’ve been long overdue for a visit to old friends (no i’m not calling you old lol), so i’m making the rounds tonight.

  3. Allispin / Sep 16 2011 9:58 pm

    I live on the East coast of the US and I have never heard fabric stores called “quilt shops.” I guess that just goes to show how diverse dialect can be even within the same country. Nor do I think of “drug stores” as places to get groceries – I would just go to the grocery store! I mean, I think of drug stores as pharmacies like CVS, Rite Aid, Walgreens, etc. where you can get some basic groceries like cereal and soda and whatnot, but not a full-on grocery store. Anyway hope they enjoyed the Northwest, I’ve never been to that part of the country and would love to visit there some day…

  4. justthreadtwiddling / Sep 16 2011 10:18 am

    I live in Portland, and we have one of the largest fabric stores around. While some of the speciality shops are devoted to quilting, most are more generalized. I hope they enjoyed Portland

  5. Lily / Sep 16 2011 10:02 am

    What lovely fabric!! It is so strange that the same language spoken in different places can still cause so much confusion. Even within the same country, HA!

    I hope your parents are having fun.

    What part of the western States are they in?

    • Zoe / Sep 16 2011 10:07 am

      Oh I should have said they’re home now! They went to Portland and Seattle mostly, and up to Vancouver.

Leave a Reply

