Skip to content
August 23, 2011 / Zoe

Happy Mail.

I had a lovely surprise yesterday. I was laying on the couch reading cookbooks (a current favourite pastime of mine) when I heard my favourite sound. The front gate clanged, and moments later a thud indicated that there was something exciting outside. I waited patiently for the gate to clang again and rushed outside to grab my parcel.

It was one of the best parcels ever. Caren, from Tea and Chickadees, one of my best bloggy friends, and one of my all-time favourite Canadians, knows me too well. Seriously, if someone knew everything about me and designed a fabric just for me, this would be it.

(I’m sorry about the less than perfect photos, I’m still trying to work out Matt’s fancy-pants camera, especially the depth of field and focus.)

The giraffes, the vintage-y florals, the sketchy look, the colours! I cannot fault this fabric. As I said to Caren, I want to live inside it. It’s bliss.

I have no idea what to sew with it. Maybe pillow cases. Or a skirt. Definitely a handbag. I’ll have to think about it, I won’t cut into it until I’m sure!

And there was a few other goodies inside the parcel! I cat coin purse full of buttons! Cats and buttons, two of my favourite things. And, of course, a card with a perfect little giraffe drawn inside.

Thank you, dear Caren, I will get a little burst of happy whenever I see that gorgeous fabric!

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Peggy / Aug 29 2011 8:23 pm

    Love the fabric, could you please e-mail me, it’s regarding the swap, I’ve never heard from my partner…thanks…

  2. elledoubleyouu / Aug 25 2011 3:18 am

    What adorable and whimsical fabrics!! I’m jealous!

    ♥ LW

  3. Ashley Sisk / Aug 23 2011 8:51 am

    That print is absolutely adorable. I bet that was a nice surprise.

  4. justthreadtwiddling / Aug 23 2011 8:48 am

    Oh, how lucky you are to have such good and intuitive friends! What a magnificent haul!

  5. caren / Aug 23 2011 8:43 am

    p.s. I am thrilled they got to you so quick! Only 20 days from Canada to Australia! yay!

  6. caren / Aug 23 2011 8:16 am

    Happiness abounds – your happiness makes me happy! Finding that giraffe fabric gave me such Zoe glee & to know it’s found its way to you, well, colour me extra-gleeful!
    Cannot wait to see what little pieces of fabric magic you’ll make with those dancing giraffes!
    {hug} Caren

Leave a Reply

