Skip to content
August 20, 2011 / Zoe

Bad Blogging and Finding Balance.

I feel like I should apologise for being a bad blogger of late, but it really annoys me when people do that, so I won’t. It’s my blog, not my job, so if I (or you) go quiet for a little while, that’s ok. But I do want to apologise for being a bad commenter! You guys put so much thought and effort into writing your own blogs, the least I could do is click out of the google reader and say hello!

Matt recently pointed out that my last 4 posts have been about cats, which isn’t really the direction I want to take my blog. Sure, the occasional cat post is nice, but I want it to be more about crafting and op-shopping and living. Unfortunately at the moment I’m not doing any of those things, I’m spending all my time with my cats. Hence the sporadic and catty blogs.

For the last month I’ve been really focusing on clean eating and exercise, and not much else. It’s easy when Matt’s working away, I’m very strict with my diet, sleeping and working out. It’s harder when Matt’s home, not that I would ever complain about him being here! But it’s harder to concentrate on myself. I want to be able to go out for coffee and cake with him and not feel guilty. So by being really strict for 2 weeks, I think it’s ok to be a little lapse for one week.

I don’t weigh myself. I don’t want to know. My goals are more along the lines of, being able to walk to the shops without getting out of breath. And being able to buy some nice clothes from the op-shop that might actually fit me. I don’t care about the number, I just want to feel comfortable with myself.

What is really difficult  for me is finding a healthy balance in my life. It’s either all crafting, all cleaning, all gardening, all blogging, or all exercise and eating well. It’s not that those things take up all my time, I certainly don’t exercise for 12 hours a day, but it consumes my thoughts and makes other tasks near impossible.

I don’t know what the answer to my problems are yet. But I do know I need to find some kind of balance, because I really miss blogging and crafting.

How do you manage to find a balance in your life?

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Manda / Sep 12 2011 3:37 am

    First, I love your kitty posts. I’m a cat lover. Now, balance. That’s a tough one. I too have a hard time finding balance. It seems that I do my best when my hubby is at work and the big kids are in school. You know, when I actually have time to do the things I want. Probably why my blogging was so sporadic over the summer. I was so busy with everyone home. I’d be up until 2 AM and still not have time. Maybe a planner or setting time to sit down and set some goals will help you balance everything? That’s what I’m going to try anyway. That and the big kids and hubby are back to school. 🙂

  2. MaryAnn / Aug 23 2011 11:05 pm

    Balance is definitely a hard thing to achieve. It’s really easy to look at other people & think that they have it all under control but I think that’s just an illusion. Everyone struggles. The key is to keep trying, I think. That & lots of prayer! I just had this exact conversation with my husband the other day. My mantra lately has been “I just don’t have enough time to get everything done!” & the Lord reminded me that I have 24 hours each day just like everyone else. I just need to determine what is truly important (this is where I asked hubby for help; I’m sure Matt can help you, too). Priorities & organization is always helpful but sometimes we need help doing that. 🙂

  3. Annika / Aug 21 2011 7:24 am

    I’m more the unbalanced type myself…. But I think you taking the time for the things that are most important to you at a certain moment is very self-loving. Your blog won’t go away, and neither will your readers, I am sure.

    P.S.: I love your cat posts.

  4. Lily / Aug 20 2011 11:44 pm

    I know what you mean about balance. I envy the people who can “do it all” I’m not one of them. Sometimes it’s my typical brand of focusing, sometimes it’s life making the choices for me. Right now while I am in school, keeping my house the way I want it has gone by the wayside. I’m not a fan of housework anyway but I do love a really clean and organized house.

    I love to cook, and do needlepoint. But right now, neither one is happening much at all.

    Balance…maybe that’s why I can’t walk on the balance beam (I used to fall off the darn thing at school ALL the time).


    Lily

  5. Courtney / Aug 20 2011 8:34 pm

    I know how you feel–balance is tough! If I’m trying to create a good routine in one area of my life, it seems like the others sort of fall by the wayside. I’m really into using a good planner, so that helps (I recently wrote an over-long blog post about trying to find a new planner). I’m mildly obsessed with organizing things, but my follow through isn’t great. In other words, I’ll write down all the tasks I need to do and things I ought to do every day, but I might only do a few of them. Ug.

    I also don’t mind the cat posts! Your kitties are adorable and if they’re what’s on your mind you should feel free to post about them–it’s your blog, after all. 🙂

  6. Sweet Rustic (@sweetrustic) / Aug 20 2011 7:53 pm

    I don’t know how to find the balance either, I’m trying but I’m glad I’m not the only one! I guess it’s all one day at a time, trying to plan/be organised & don’t be too hard on ourselves! Good luck!

  7. Cara / Aug 20 2011 10:58 am

    I see nothing wrong with having a cat blog. In fact, I should post more often about my own cat. I will, once his unfortunate cat acne clears up.

  8. deerdonna / Aug 20 2011 9:37 am

    hahah you are so awesome. i totally agree about feeling like i dont put effort in, even though i have my blog party right now, i scheduled all those posts over a month ago and so i am not technically blogging right now hehe. i also dont comment as much as i should.

    that said, i loove your cat posts.. even though you probably, like me, dont want to be anotttther cat blog. haha.

    as for the weight…. argh, i need balance for sure. i have lost 8 kilos in the past few weeks due to being ill with a tummy bug, but i bet it will all come back on when i am eating again. boooo.

    xox

    • Zoe / Aug 20 2011 9:57 am

      Oh man, can you send me over your virus? That would be awesome right now, hahaha!

Leave a Reply

