Skip to content
August 3, 2011 / Zoe

Not So Perfect Cat Family.

If you’re a reader of mama blogs you’ll know that once in a while they post an ‘it’s-not-all-so-perfect’ blog post. When they reveal that their life, and children, aren’t as perfect as they may portray in their writing.

Well, here’s mine…

Daisy is a floor pooper. I’m at a loss of what to do about it. Should I get 7 litter trays and buy every brand of litter until I find something she likes? Should I live with it? Should I buy her a nappy? This isn’t a new thing, we’ve always struggled to get her into the tray. The small mercy is that she limits the floor pooping to the bathroom and laundry, where the trays are.

Daisy is also a towel pee-er. That’s an easy fix, hang up the towels!

Enough about bodily functions.

Maisie has been getting increasingly aggressive towards her sisters. They’ll be snuggling and grooming one moment, and fighting the next. Maisie is a good 2kg heavier than the other girls, and when she launches herself at them there’s nothing they can do. She pins the down and bits their necks. Daisy had to have surgery when she was a babe because of abscesses on her face and neck, I really don’t want it to happen again! Even if Daisy and Zelda are being totally submissive towards Maisie, that is lying on their backs and blinking at her, she’ll attack. She’s not trying to kill them, but it’s definitely goes further than play fighting. They’ve always wrestled and played tag, but this seems different. Maybe she’s annoyed about the floor pooping?

As you probably know, Matt’s working 2 weeks away and 1 week home for the rest of the year. A couple of days after he leaves Zelda starts looking for him. She tears up and down the house making the most heart-breaking noise, a little mmmrrmmmp! She burrows under blankets, she burrows under me, she burrows under the pile of mail and knocks everything off everything. It’s sad at first, but it quickly gets old.

Maisie scratches up the carpet. Zelda routinely removes everything from my craft table and tries to sample my dinner. (I never let her, I don’t want her to think that’s ok!) Maisie starts begging for dinner at 5; she can’t have it until 7 because of her diabetes. I can’t leave any food out, lest Maisie eats it, and I can’t leave any thread out, lest anyone eats it! Most bizarrely, Daisy pulls the little grill out of the sink drain and leaves it around the house. And, of course, they all leave their hair everywhere!

I love my girls like they’re my children. But it’s not all rainbows and snuggles and sunshine… sometimes, they’re simply annoying! 

Does that make me a bad cat mama!?

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sense of Humus / Aug 7 2011 6:18 pm

    It makes you an exhausted cat mama

  2. Lindsay (The Craftafarian) / Aug 6 2011 8:20 am

    I recommend talking to your vet. There are some medications and natural remedies that would be helpful for the aggression and inappriopriate urination.

    Aggression: first and foremost I recommend that you go purchase feliway or the equivalent. Check google. It is a spray or wall outlet diffuser of feline pheromones from the facial glands. It should help with anxiety. (also the litterbox issues, even though the are diff cats) The next is to take Maisie to the vet for exam and possibly bloodwork just to rule out any physical problems. Then you would start her on an anti anxiety medication such as reconcile (fluoxetine hcl). You will also need to do behavior modification. (ie. reward her when she is nice to her siblings and separate her from everyone when she is bad). Feliway can be purchased at a pet store or online. The meds you need to get from the vet or get an Rx from the vet.

    Inappropriate litterbox usage: If this something Daisy has always done it may be even more difficult to stop. If its new the first thing you want to do is check her for an urinary tract infection and intestinal parasites. Either of those can cause inappropriate eliminations. We recommend doing the testing and then ALL the following at the SAME time: new clean litter box, new litter, litter attractant (makes cats want to pee in it), feliway (for anxiety), and you can also add the reconcile meds here. It sounds like its a behavioral thing with Daisy especially since you said she likes to pee on towels.

    Hope this helps ❤

  3. jenn / Aug 6 2011 12:52 am

    we all feel like that sometimes! i don’t know what i’d do without a separate room for crafts.

    my Maggie will pee on anything you leave lying on the floor. at least it keeps us diligent about being tidy.

    we shut the door to the kitchen at night and when we’re gone, because if we don’t the cats will pry all of the cupboards open and root around, tip over the trash, and generally make a huge mess. my Ash will paw at the door at 4 am to get in there, so i’m always waking up to the thump, thump, thump of the door as he tries to pry it open.

    i won’t even start on all the hair.

  4. Jodie / Aug 4 2011 2:17 pm

    No way, totally does not make you a bad cat mum!!
    Does she do it all the time, or only if there might be something else in the litter tray? I know Anabelle is super fussy, and if there is even one tiny piece of poo in any of the (three! litter trays she shares with her sister) she will not use it, and might do it in the one tiny spot she has used a few times, she will also pee in this one spot if the litter isn’t clean up to her standard!
    We clean it out every night, and during the day if there are any lucky pieces, but it’s not always 100% to her standard I suppose! haha.

    ooh and Sui – yeah she has this weird way to pee..where she stands just on all fours, doesn’t squat, and kind of levitates her but up, up up – so her pee goes up, up, up..and it’s often right on the edge of the litter, so it will go up the wall, or onto the floor, poor thing, I know she can’t help it,and furiously tries to scratch cover it afterward. I guess it’s lucky they are so damn cute, and so entwined into our hearts that they get anyway with anything.

    hehe long story, sorry about that.
    xx

  5. MaryAnn / Aug 4 2011 12:05 am

    I think you are an excellent cat mama. Sometimes we just have to get real and acknowledge that with the good there will always be some bad. You’ll figure it out!

  6. Lily / Aug 3 2011 11:56 pm

    We a floor pooper, that’s how I knew she found the cat box unacceptable. She was a bit OC about it. It could have been cleaned just hours before but if the other cats did their business before she could then she wasn’t happy with the box. She was hilarious. She was a towel peer too. When I was younger we had a tub pooper. Ha!!

    You might get Maisie checked for a UT. When my old girl (the floor pooper) would get aggressive I would have her checked and they’d find a UT. I don’t know why a UT would make them act that way but apparently it isn’t unusual. It is easily fixable.

    Scratching on the rug….get her a piece of split wood. Not something smooth but also not something splintery. Put eucalyptus oil or something similar where she likes to scratch most. They don’t like that smell. It might work. But she needs an alternative.

    All in all your cats sound extremely entertaining!! I love it!! And you are a great kitty mama.


    Lillian-Thinking Out Loud

  7. Juani / Aug 3 2011 11:05 pm

    No,it doesn’t make you a bad cat mama,because we all feel that way.My 4 are inside/outside cats,so they get to take their frustrations outside when they feel like it.But even so,they mostly prefer to take out any annoyances they might have,near me.Dinner time is chaos,as my youngest girl (Ponchos) starts hitting all the others (even the boys) out of anger that her food is.taking.so.long.

    I get really irritated and mad at them sometimes (especially when they leave little ‘presents’,ie.dead/alive rodents or frogs, for me to find.But they also know that 2 seconds later I’m loving on them again.

  8. Courtney / Aug 3 2011 11:03 pm

    Thank you so much for posting this! I sometimes I feel like I’m the only one who has these problems. I only have one cat but he creates plenty of havoc around the apartment. He poops on the floor semi-regularly (sometimes because I need to clean the litter box, and I understand that, but sometimes it’s for no apparent reason).

    Also, I’ve restricted my cat’s feeding a bit because he needs to lose weight. Not too problematic except that he knows when it’s meal time and will cry and cry to be fed if it’s within an hour or so of chow time. (Even if it’s early in the morning and I’m asleep, in which case he will paw my face to wake me up. It would be cute if, you know, I wasn’t trying to sleep.)

    But! I feel I should point out that I love the little bugger anyway and don’t know what I’d do without him. 🙂

Leave a Reply

