Skip to content
July 30, 2011 / Zoe

Mushroom Pie and Becoming An Adult.

This Thursday was my half-birthday, and since Matt’s away in the desert I decided to spoil myself.

So I made pancakes for breakfast. And made a mushroom pie for lunch. And ate more pie for dinner. And then ice-cream. And chocolate for dessert.

It was delicious, and the pastry was perfect! I can’t believe I’ve been so scared of making pastry, it’s easy!

I’ve never celebrated a half-birthday before, but this year it just felt like something I should do. It meant that it’s 6 months until I’m 25, and 25 feels so scary (I know that if you’re older than 25 you’re rolling your eyes at me right now, that’s ok, roll away, I think I felt like this when I was 19 too). 25 feels like an adult, and I’m not really ready to be an adult yet, adults don’t spend the weekends playing video games and eating twisties, adults exercise to be healthy, even if they don’t enjoy exercising, and adults aren’t scared of getting a bus. So I decided to spoil myself on my half-birthday and then really concentrate on getting healthy, physically and mentally, by the time I’m 25. Because by then, I will be an adult.

Or at least a healthier and happier late-age-teenager.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lauren / Aug 2 2011 5:56 am

    i dont think you ever actually feel like an adult.. im 28 and i definitely dont.

  2. Annika / Aug 1 2011 11:18 pm

    Shucks! I was supposed to become an adult at 25?! Almost a decade later and I’m still only a confused but happy kid! Happy half-birthday! 🙂

  3. Linnie / Jul 31 2011 2:02 pm

    Happy half, Zoe!

    I have to admit, I was laughing (with you)!

    I just turned 27, and I was wringing my wrists about it. When I was little 27 was the age I decided that you were officially an adult, with adult things and automatically cool.

    On the day of my bday, my Grannie called and I told her what I thought as a young ‘un. She got very serious and firmly said, “Lindsay, you ARE COOL!”. Then I really, really felt odd.

    It happens to all of us. When the day comes, you will be fabulous! 🙂

  4. Lindsay (The Craftafarian) / Jul 31 2011 3:56 am

    I’m def rolling my eyes at you…I’m 26! haha just kidding. Birthdays were never a big thing for me, except when my awesome friends make something for me. I just turned 26 the beginning of the month, I don’t feel different but I’m getting a little nervous for 30, I know its four years away but I remember being in third grade and being amazed that I turned another year older, I dont know if I was expecting to die? I was/is a very strange, ok interesting kid. Happy Half Birthday!!

    ps- I lost two followers and I’m sorta bummed out. Not sure what to do! Not that this blog is necessarily for that but still.

  5. thebockster / Jul 31 2011 12:58 am

    I hear you so hard on this!! I think I’m just a few months younger than you, and 25 is such a grownup number. IT’S A QUARTER CENTURY!!!! Ack!

  6. Lesley Wright / Jul 31 2011 12:27 am

    Uh yeah – what she said! I spent the last three hours playing Facebook games and eating things I shouldn’t, and you know how much older than 25 I am!!
    You have strengths and qualities that other people don’t have, and that’s what makes you special….and if part of that includes being scared to get on a bus, then maybe we should find some less scary buses.
    Love and hugs
    xoxox
    Lesley

  7. Ieva / Jul 30 2011 10:41 pm

    Happy half-birthday Zoe – I’m still a late age teenager 🙂 and I still spend weekends playing video games, and I probably shouldn’t admit how much older than 25 I am -LOL

Leave a Reply

