Skip to content
July 24, 2011 / Zoe

Le Tour de France

Sport isn’t a subject area I would normally cover here, but this is a special occasion. I want to document this moment here because in 5 years time I want to look back on my blog and remember things that were important to me. Sorry if you don’t care, scroll on through if you wish.

For as long as I can remember the Tour de France has been my thing. When I was a kid I would scour the morning papers for any news of the tour, and then scan all the names, looking for the Aussies. I would claim the TV at 6PM to watch the highlights and chat about the results with my Grandad whenever I could. When they introduced the occasional live stages I would creep out of bed in the middle of the night to watch the amazing riders pedal their way up and down enormous mountains or fly across the flats. I would lie on the floor with the volume as low as it would go, so as not to wake my Dad, my eyes wide in awe. And now that the whole tour is live I spend my Julys in a sleepy daze.

I remember Marco Pantani’s bandanna-clad head flying up the mountains. I remember the amazing rivalry between Armstrong and Ullrich. I remember day-dreaming about being the first female to ride in a grand tour. I remember sickening crashes and inspiring victories, heart-wrenching despair and pure joy.

And I remember my Dad scoffing 5 years ago when I told him I thought Cadel Evans would win the tour one day.

In just a few hours, I will be right. Cadel Evans will be the first Australian to ever win the Tour de France. I’m not the most patriotic of people, I barely look up when the Olympics are on and Australia Day is just another day for me, but this is different. This is something I’ve been waiting for since I was a child. I am just so proud!

{source}

There will be tears tonight, the kind of tears that spring up in my eyes when watching another person achieve their dreams.

Hurrah for Cadel! 

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. maru / Aug 12 2011 9:11 am

    Full of feeling this post! Just love it!
    I also follow the Tour de France year after year and Cadel is a sound champion.
    🙂
    🙂
    🙂

  2. ladykatie32 / Jul 30 2011 12:51 am

    Hey! Just wanted to say I love your blog & wanted to tag you as a Blog on Fire! 🙂
    http://amateurlibrarian.wordpress.com/2011/07/29/blog-on-fire/

  3. deer donna / Jul 28 2011 7:47 pm

    i totally agree with this post.. i think cadel is awesome, and have for years!

  4. Flamingo Dancer / Jul 27 2011 6:49 pm

    Oh yes indeed, Hurrah for Cadel – a job well done!

    Now, if only someone would work on his eyebrows…

  5. Annika / Jul 25 2011 12:37 am

    My husband and I watch the highlights of the tour on TV, every day of the tour, every year! This year we got the idea we might want to follow it for a few stages in France next year! We’ll see… Didn’t Cadel Evans look so happy and accomplished!?

Leave a Reply

