Skip to content
July 19, 2011 / Zoe

All In A Row.

Last week I was feeling a little bit sick, so I snuggled up on the couch with a doona* and watched movies. Being the domestic goddess that I am, I folded it up and put it away when I was done I left it there until Matt got home, when he put it away. The night after my snuggly sick day I woke up with cold feet, a cold belly and an empty spot next to my pillow. I’d been totally abandoned in favour of the couch doona!

It very quickly became the number one Cat Nap Spot in the house, one or two or three cats were always snuggled up in the soft cosy folds.

Looks cosy, no?

*I only recently learnt that the word ‘doona’ is an Australian, possibly Eastern Australian term for a thick, padded blanket. They’re sometimes stuffed with down, but being vegetarian I prefer mine stuffed with cotton. What do you call a doona in your part of the world? Duvet? Comforter? Or just a blanket?

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lauren / Aug 2 2011 5:49 am

    i guess duvet? haha. duvets usually have detachable covers but comforters don’t.

  2. tea & chickadees / Jul 23 2011 11:55 pm

    this is an educational post, with cats! how purrfect!
    I loved finding out about the term ‘doona’ and now I can add ‘dyne’ to my vocabulary! I’ll always keep warm during any possible travels now!
    p.s. it’s all 3 for me – duvet is the one that is normally down-filled (allergic, but want Linnie’s silk one!) and you get a duvet cover for, a comforter has a design already printed on the fabric, and a blanket is usually of a woven fabric & acts as a coverlet. 😀

  3. Lizette / Jul 23 2011 12:22 am

    Hi! I know that you enjoy cross-stitching and would love it if you would join the cross-stitch fan club with “Cross Stitching Addict” blog button at http://creativitylizette.blogspot.com/
    I also plan to have a cross-stitching swap in the near future. I’m an admirer of your blog and would love it if you would join the club.

  4. Emily Orpin / Jul 22 2011 3:32 pm

    A doona is a doona is a doona! It is the perfect word for a perfectly snuggly, soft thing…

    Cats always know the best spot to sleep, don’t they? Did you see the IKEA add from a few months ago (I’m pretty sure it was in the UK) where they let a few hundred cats loose in an IKEA store overnight – playing on that theme of kitties knowing comfort? Worth tracking down if not 🙂

  5. Linnie / Jul 20 2011 1:45 pm

    YES YES YES, get a pic with all the kitties, like fatcatfromvox said!

  6. Linnie / Jul 20 2011 1:44 pm

    As a Canuck who used to work in a lovely linen shop, I call the thing your precious little pussy kitties are sleeping on is a duvet!

    I LOVE duvets, but also avoid feathers due to an allergy. Last year I bought a duvet with silk filling and it is DIVINE!

    We have comforters too, like a lovely commenter stated above, but for me the defining factor is the cover. Duvets need covers, but comforters don’t.

  7. Lily / Jul 20 2011 8:15 am

    Most USA-ians call them comforters. If they are down-filled I think that is when they called duvet’s. I don’t know I just call them comforters, down or poly/cotton filled.

    The kitties are adorable. My cats are just not snugglers at least not with each other. They have their favorite blankets though, all of them are Lydia’s => I love your babies!

  8. Shelly aka Fourteen Countess / Jul 20 2011 8:09 am

    Oh, what gorgeous happy kitty faces! It’s a duvet here in the US.

  9. fatcatfromvox / Jul 19 2011 10:11 pm

    In Norwegian it’s “dyne”, which is rather similar to doona. Good spot for getting the all cats in one place shot?

  10. Ieva / Jul 19 2011 9:10 pm

    The gorgeous girls – they look so cosy!!

Leave a Reply

