Skip to content
July 7, 2011 / Zoe

Two-Thirds of a Family Portrait.

I’m continuing my endeavour to take a portrait (I,II) of three cats looking at the camera. Not just any three cats mind you, my three cats. This afternoon Maisie and Daisy were snuggling, so I chucked Zelda in there and grabbed the camera. Zelda ran away, so I settled for two-thirds of a family portrait.

I love the last photo because would you look at how fat Maisie looks? Don’t you just want to rub that little furry belly!? I often indulge in Maisie belly rubbing. She likes it. Most of the time. Only the occasional clawing. She’s just the right weight now, about 5kg. Cats with diabetes can become unstable if they’re fat, so she’ll be getting no fatter.

It makes me so happy in my belly to see her like this. This is Maisie just 4 months ago:

After a week in hospital she was skeletal. Her thighs were sunken, her hips bones jutting out, she weighed half of what she should. This is why twice a day, when I give her that little shot on insulin, I give a little thanks to the Universe for making it possible.

I have two little miracle cats. Diabetes cat and String Eating cat, and when I see them snoozing together, well, I’m just so happy!

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Emily Orpin / Jul 15 2011 3:26 pm

    What gorgeous expressive kitties! And I admire your persistence and perseverance with the family portrait…I know my two dogs are most uncooperative when it comes to photography. They normally get completely distracted by the camera and the fact that I am coming down to their level (lying on the floor trying to capture a shot) and come running over to me!

  2. Becky W / Jul 11 2011 1:27 am

    Your babies are so beautiful!

  3. Edith / Jul 9 2011 11:28 am

    This makes me happy in the belly too!! So happy for you Zoe 🙂

  4. shelbyisrad / Jul 9 2011 9:38 am

    had to let you know there was fudge in the hammock shop but not all the candy goodness as the candy shop… though I agree and I think i should open a hammock/candy shop!

    • Zoe / Jul 9 2011 10:42 am

      Ha! That’s brilliant!

  5. Jenny / Jul 9 2011 8:05 am

    Sweet post! My cat hates belly rubbing, her belly looks deceivingly soft and inviting, and make the big mistake of falling for it. She just gives me that look as if to say “I’m not a puppy, ok?”. I also like that photo that looks like your cat is speed licking, its funny!

  6. Erika Lee Sears / Jul 8 2011 2:34 am

    I love how cute they snuggle together 🙂

  7. shelbyisrad / Jul 7 2011 10:48 pm

    so happy your kitties are healthy! and that belly is SOO begging for a good rub!!

  8. tea & chickadees / Jul 7 2011 10:41 pm

    They really are miracle kitties! It’s so wonderful to see Maisie looking so healthy & with a belly just ready for snuggles 🙂
    Love seeing these two together – it makes a heart go all mushy with love. 🙂
    (silly Zelda, missing out on the lovings!)

Leave a Reply

