Skip to content
July 6, 2011 / Zoe

From The Desert.

This is a guest post of sorts, from Matt. He likes taking photos of things, and even though working on the mines is gosh-darn boring, the silver lining is that he has lots of new subjects to photograph! I don’t know if he feels that way, but I am ever the optimist.

This photo is particularly cool, it’s a bower bird bower. The males make these cool nests to lure in the ladies, and then he decorates it with anything colourful he can find. I’ve seen them at the zoo, but never in the wild! By the way, I’m a bird nerd.

Isn’t it a beautiful place? I hope I can see the red sands of the desert some day.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Linnie B / Jul 14 2011 11:01 am

    Ohhhhh, I LOVE the cattle shots!

    I have a special place for cows of all kinds. 🙂

  2. Flamingo Dancer / Jul 7 2011 12:42 pm

    Such interesting and beautiful photos! Great work, Matt!

    • matt / Jul 7 2011 5:58 pm

      thanks 🙂

  3. Jenny / Jul 6 2011 9:57 pm

    I’m a bird nerd too! I’ve seen a programme about the bower birds, it was amazing seeing them choose what to put in the nest, they choose the same color things to put in there. One bird found lots of purple things, like flowers and plastic, it was so cute. I like the cow pictures, that one in the middle of the road looks a bit dumbstruck.

  4. Lily / Jul 6 2011 11:43 am

    It really is beautiful. I’m not a bird nerd, in fact, birds scare me silly if they get too close to me. Utterly freak out. But I love that story about the birds!!

Leave a Reply

