Skip to content
July 1, 2011 / Zoe

In The Beginning.

In the beginning there was a girl. She’d just discovered Myspace (yes, remember that!?) and was fond of lurking the profiles of complete strangers to try and figure the whole thing out. Social networking was a confusing new adventure.

Late one night, 5 years ago, she randomly came across a profile picture of two arms. They were tattooed with a star on one, and a circle on the other. Intrigued, I messaged the arms and asked if they were the sun and the moon or a star and a circle. The arms almost immediately replied and said, ‘actually it’s the sun and the earth. I have to go out now, ttyl.’ I didn’t know what ttyl meant, so I had to look it up. Talk to you later. And the arms did talk to me later, and the arms had a face, and the face and the arms belonged to Matt.

We talked. A lot. I felt odd calling it a friendship, but now, having been a blogger for over a year, I’m completely ok with calling people I’ve never met my friends. Matt was my friend and he sent me songs. Lots and lots of songs. Because music is his thing. And I listened to them and swooned and read all the lyrics and interpreted them all as if they were relevant to his life. He later crushed me when he said that they were just songs he liked, not little windows into his soul.

I was halfway through my second year of Uni, and I was not a happy camper. I was quickly realising that while I was interested in how the human body worked, I now knew enough to satisfy my curiosity and I knew that I did not want to work in the exercise or rehabilitation industry. (Duh.) But that’s what I was supposed to do; finish high school, go to uni, get a job, keep on following the conga line. I don’t really know where this impression came from, it certainly didn’t come from my parents. So I was flailing, and I wanted to run away. And then. Matt needed a housemate. In Perth. There was no decision making process, I was going. The end.

After 8 months of ‘talking’ online every day, with the occasional phone call, suddenly the boy was real. Before I moved over I was keen on one of his friends, but within days of moving into his house I knew. We denied it for a little while, but not for very long. We quickly slipped into our lives together.

Now that he’s working away for 2-3 weeks at a time, it feels like those old days. We chat online for a couple of hours every night. We talk on the phone occasionally. And last night he sent me a beautiful song.

I snuggled up to listen, and read the lyrics. Then I tentatively asked if I was allowed to take these lyrics literally, and he said yes…

“Though the sky could be blue,
I don’t mind, because without you it’s a waste of time.”

 

And then I swooned right off my chair.
7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Linnie B / Jul 14 2011 11:06 am

    Awwwwwwwwww!!

    There is something highly romantic about nostalgia. 🙂

  2. fatcatfromvox / Jul 3 2011 3:42 pm

    Awww!

  3. Katie / Jul 2 2011 12:17 pm

    Oh Zoe, this is just the sweetest! The story of how you and Matt met made me so happy. It’s so amazing how we can stumble across someone, seemingly on accident, and it ultimately that chance meeting changes everything. Is it just a happy accident or is it fate? We’ll never know… But gosh, I’m so glad it happens! ❤

    Katie x

  4. Flamingo Dancer / Jul 2 2011 9:33 am

    AAAwwwww how romantic. Sigh.

  5. Lindsay (The Craftafarian) / Jul 2 2011 8:19 am

    Aww that is so cute! What a nice love story 🙂

  6. Annika / Jul 1 2011 9:27 pm

    Such a sweet post! And the song is lovely! Yay for love!

    (I used to always interpret the songs that boys used to give me to listen to on a personal level! Once I got a mix tape from a friend that I had a crush on. It was quite a grungey list of songs, but the last one was ‘Just Like Heaven’ by The Cure. I told him that I REALLY liked that one and he said this: “Oh, I did not even know that was on there, it must have been left when I recorded over the previous songs…” My poor, whimpering heart!

  7. MaryAnn / Jul 1 2011 9:15 pm

    Sweet, sweet story! I love reading about how couples meet. It’s always a wonderful story. I’m so glad you have found your boy. It sounds like you were made for each other 🙂

Leave a Reply

