Skip to content
June 30, 2011 / Zoe

Lately…

I stole this from Nova, who stole it from someone else. That’s the beauty of the bloggy world, it’s totally acceptable to steal ideas if you just include a little linky.

Reading: I’m still trudging my way through War and Peace. I wish I’d read it when I was younger, it’s a brilliant book. I used to look at it on the bookshelf at home, it was so formidable and long, and I also used to think it was a non-fiction book, so I never bothered with it. I’m so glad I did now. In the words of Rory Gilmore, ‘Tolstoy wrote for the masses, the common man.’ It’s not difficult to read at all, and the narrative is perfection.

I’m also re-reading Shame by Salman Rushdie. Rushdie is probably my favourite author, but I find it hard to choose. Shame is weird and wonderful, and you definitely read it.

Watching: Gilmore Girls. Always and forever on repeat. It drives Matt insane, so good thing he’s miles away mining gold.

Also, movies. I watch a lot of movies. A few movies that I’ve watched recently and would recommend are; Lars and the Real Girl, Away We Go, Step Brothers, and The Royal Tenenbaums.

Listening to: The Whitlams are my sewing friends. I don’t listen to as much music as I used to, I guess I listen to movies instead. I should rectify that.

Eating: Vegemite and cheese on toast for breakfast. Carrot stitcks, rice crackers, almonds, cheese and an apple for lunch. Whatever I want for dinner. I’m in a good food routine at the moment. It should be steel cut oats for breakfast but bugs ate my oats. Dinner is usually pizza, curry, stir fry, nachos or pasta.

Loving: Sewing patchwork pouches, listening to the rain, drinking copious amounts of coffee, cuddling kittens.

Looking forward to: Matt being home for a little while. Not coughing any more. Having steel cut oats which aren’t full of bugs.

 

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. MaryAnn / Jul 1 2011 9:08 pm

    This is a good idea for a post! I’ve tried “War and Peace” myself. I gave up. Maybe I should try again.
    Sorry about your oats. That stinks.
    When I’m busy buzzing around cleaning, cooking, or doing something crafty I like to listen to movies, too. Especially the old favorites like “Little Women” or “The Last of the Mohicans.”
    I hope you are feeling better!

  2. jenn / Jul 1 2011 6:16 am

    funny, i’ve been watching gilmore girls lately, too! was a great show.

    you and i seem to have quite similar eating habits..

  3. Lindsay (The Craftafarian) / Jul 1 2011 1:17 am

    Matt: You sound just like my boyfriend, but we must watch them OVER AND OVER!
    Zoe: bugs! ewww! thank goodness you didn’t eat any!

  4. matt / Jun 30 2011 7:51 pm

    I want to be clear that I appreciate Gilmore Girls, but I swear we’ve seen every episode like five times now!

  5. Thalia / Jun 30 2011 7:05 pm

    GOOD HOUSEKEEPING!

  6. Annika / Jun 30 2011 4:43 pm

    Gilmore Girls rule so much!!! I’m on season 7, so will have to say goodbye soon. Sniff. My husband quite does not get it either and I was a bit embarrassed to be into it so much until I found out that a good friend of mine was also a fan, sometime during season 6. We’ve been having regular Gilmore marathons since then!

  7. nova / Jun 30 2011 12:50 pm

    FULL OF BUGS? I am officially barfing on your steel cut oats.

    • Zoe / Jun 30 2011 12:59 pm

      Right!? I even cooked them before I noticed, so they were steel cut oats full of cooked bugs. I’m so glad I didn’t take a bite.

      • jenn / Jul 1 2011 6:17 am

        that happened to me once with some barley soup. unfortunately, i didn’t notice that those funny looking grains had antennae and eyes until i got a couple bites in. (shudder)

      • Zoe / Jul 1 2011 11:57 am

        EEwwwwww!!

Leave a Reply

