Skip to content
June 28, 2011 / Zoe

Patchwork pouches.

I’ve been working away at something a bit different. Some patchworky goodness. I accidentally bought a scrap pack off Etsy a few weeks ago, just a few days before Daisy got sick actually, so I didn’t feel guilty at the time for accidentally buying a pile of scraps. Now that I’m doing something cute with them I again don’t feel guilty for accidentally buying fabric. It’s an easy accident to make, after all.

The scraps are cute. Lots of animals and sweetness. Some pieces are nearly the size of a pouch, most aren’t. So my patchworking hat went on. I’ve never really done anything like this, but I’m very happy with the results. I made 5 to see if I liked them, and I think more will appear once I accidentally buy some more zips.

I dug into my own bag of scraps and utilised some of those too. It took a long time. I think I went into some kind of patchwork time warp, because it took me 3 hours to piece together 5 pouches. It’s just lucky it’s so much fun.

Between my regular pouches and the new patchwork ones, I have about 30 ready to go. I just really need someone to come over and take photos of them…Anyone? No? Sigh. The saddest thing about Matt being away is that he took his fancy camera,* so I’m stuck with my less fancy camera. I need to wait for a sunny day to get some non-grainy shots. In the meantime I have some custom things I really need to finish.

*Obviously that’s not the saddest thing about Matt being away, the saddest thing is that he usually takes my photos.

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Linnie B / Jul 14 2011 11:08 am

    Get those pictures taken….I LOVE THOSE POUCHES!!

    Can’t wait to see them!

    xoxo

  2. ejorpin / Jun 30 2011 4:11 pm

    These look wonderful! And sometimes those ‘accidental’ purchases turn out to be great inspiration, as long as you don’t have too many ‘accidents’ (because then you just end up drowning in all kinds of craft supplies, not that I personally would know what that’s like of course…)

  3. thebockster / Jun 30 2011 10:46 am

    I LOVE patchwork! In fact, that’s all I do when I sew 🙂
    Thanks for reminding me- I should haul out my sewing machine soon and get to it!! Love your new pouches!

  4. Zoe MacLean / Jun 30 2011 8:39 am

    If I could afford to fly to WA, I’d totally offer to bring my fancy camera and take photos for you 🙂

  5. Jenny / Jun 30 2011 7:20 am

    My gosh, is that some lovely “ghastly” cat fabric I spy?! It looks so quirky and original with the polka dot and floral fabric, and the hedgehog fabric is adorable! Your pouches are so neat and pretty, I would say that ‘accidental’ buy was pretty good!

  6. Lindsay (The Craftafarian) / Jun 29 2011 3:17 am

    Those are awesome! Will some of these be on etsy?

  7. Yadira / Jun 29 2011 2:56 am

    These are very nice.

  8. tea & chickadees / Jun 29 2011 12:03 am

    Love your patchwork pouches! That black kittycat one mixed with orange fabric is so purrfect (and kinda Halloweeny!).
    I miss having access to a quality digital camera, too, but I think the photos you took above are totally ace!

  9. ana / Jun 28 2011 10:20 pm

    the photos are fine! and the pouches are lovely little bitty things. i love the combinations of fabric. that must’ve been fun to do. and look how tidy the zipper join at the corner is! nice 🙂

  10. eef / Jun 28 2011 9:41 pm

    those are so cool! love the patchwork.

Leave a Reply

