Skip to content
June 24, 2011 / Zoe

Oliver found his family.

The last of our ‘Orphan’ trio left us yesterday. We had Dorothy from Oz, Pippi Longstocking and Oliver Twist. They were all my favourite at some point in our journey. Dorothy immediately won us over with her impeccably good looks, Pippi was next with her quirky face, odd orange leg and sweet personality, Oliver was the final favourite, and coincidentally the last to leave.

Dorothy and Pippi were adopted in the midst of the Daisy drama, and to be honest I just wanted to shove them out the door. I needed to reduce my stress levels, and thankfully their families called just when we needed them. They both now have older kitty brothers and have settled in well. I was less eager for Oliver to leave us, he’s always good for a cuddle and a laugh. His tail is ridiculously floofy, so his mere existence is amusement enough. He was an absolute delight to have in our home, but I’m so pleased with his new parents. They’re a young couple with oodles of love to give the lucky boy.

We’re now foster free, and despite the joy fostering brings us, we’ve decided to take a foster break. After the stress of the last few months I want to spend some time giving our girls my full attention. I’ve already noticed a change in Daisy and he’s only been gone a day. She’s been chirping away and playing soccer with scrunched up paper, if Oliver was here he’d steal her paper and she’d look so forlorn. So it’s not just a break for us, it’s a break for our kittens too.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jenny / Jun 27 2011 5:19 am

    I think its really nice that you offer your home to those sweet little kitties! Karma points to you!

  2. Lindsay (The Craftafarian) / Jun 26 2011 3:49 am

    Aww how nice for your kitties 🙂 I love fostering also but it is always nice to have your home back to normal.

  3. Endrina / Jun 25 2011 6:12 pm

    Aw, how adorable kitties, and how nice that they have all be adopted! I’m living in Norway, and we’re also “foster homing”. It’s currently summer here, and lots of kittens are being dumped every day. We’ve got three here now, and it get quite…hectic!

  4. jenn / Jun 25 2011 2:20 am

    i’m so happy to hear this! those girls are gorgeous, but oliver was my favorite out of this bunch. what a handsome boy.

    if you weren’t halfway around the world, i would have come and taken him right away (probably much to the dismay of my other two cats and to the delight of my dog who loves to torment them). glad to know he’ll have a happy new home.

  5. Ieva / Jun 24 2011 8:11 pm

    Just as I posted this Teddy got control of the box.

  6. Ieva / Jun 24 2011 8:10 pm

    That’s really good news Zoe. I would love to have a peaceful cat household for a bit. Tiggy and Teddy are currently fighting over who gets to play in a box. Tiggy is sitting in it and snarling at Teddy. Silly boy cats.

Leave a Reply

