Skip to content
June 20, 2011 / Zoe

A Final Thank You.

One thousand eight hundred and eighty one US dollars.

One thousand seven hundred and eighty two AUS dollars.

That’s the funds from the Chipin and my Etsy sale combined.

That’s over 6 weeks rent. 3564 zippers. 51 bags of fancy diabetes food for Maisie. 445 bags of not so fancy food for Daisy and Zelda. 891 packets of twisties. Over 500kgs of apples. 3 pairs of Jimmy Choo shoes or 356 pairs of flip flops.

Or 55% of the bill to remove 5cm of intestine from a much loved, but silly cat.

We have over half the money we need to pay off our bill, our $3200 bill and we have over half. I know I’ve already said twice, but I just have to keep reminding myself that it’s real.

We were stumped when were given the quote. We just looked at each other, total fear in our eyes, but what could we say? We both shrugged and just said we’d have to find the money. There was no other option, we would just have to find it.

We found it with you. I wish I had the words to fully and truly express how I feel, but I’m not sure that they exist. All I have is thank you. For not only the money, but for the comments, the emails, the prayers, the positive energies, and the blog posts spreading Daisy’s story through the blog world like fire. Thousands of people are now aware of the dangers of string, if Daisy’s story saves one cat, and one person, from going through this angst and heartache, then this whole experience will be worth it.

I can’t help but think how bittersweet this would be if she didn’t make it. It was so close.

But she is here, so I can drop the bitter and just call it sweet.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Linnie B / Jul 14 2011 11:12 am

    ACK! I didn’t have internet so I didn’t participate, but I am SO GLAD you did so well!

    Just fabulous, Zoe.

  2. jenn / Jun 22 2011 1:22 am

    yes, sweet!!

    glad daisy is doing well.

  3. Lindsay (The Craftafarian) / Jun 21 2011 9:12 pm

    YAY!! SO glad Daisy is doing well and that the bloggy community was able to get out there and help. Please let me know if there is anything else I can do. 🙂

  4. PuNk rAwK pUrL / Jun 21 2011 9:19 am

    gratitude tears are faling!! This makes my heart so big & warm & happy!!

  5. fatcatfromvox / Jun 21 2011 12:39 am

    Sweet indeed! Enjoy life settling back into its normal pace, I know it’s been hectic and stressful for you!

  6. quietlystrange / Jun 21 2011 12:09 am

    Ah honey – I am so so glad *hugs*

  7. waterlilies84 / Jun 20 2011 10:17 pm

    What a blessing!! I am so glad that so many people stepped up to help you, Matt and Daisy.

    Congratulations to all the winners!

  8. Vixie / Jun 20 2011 10:17 pm

    Hooray for the internet! Hooray for crafters! Hooray for kitty lovers! Hooray for the vets who helped! Hooray for you! So glad to hear Daisy is doing well, and am so proud to be part of the amazing little bloggy community we have here! Hooray for everyone! Lots of love xxxx

Leave a Reply

