Skip to content
June 19, 2011 / Zoe

Giveaway Prize #27 – Sukie’s Originals (My Mum!)

** Read Daisy’s Story HERE, and read more about the Raising For Daisy Mega Giveaway I’m running to help pay for her vet bills HERE. **

This giveaway prize is a little bit special, because it’s what my own dear Mum sent me to offer. So I usually link you up with the blog and store of the crafter, but I have nothing to link today. Mum does sell her things though, at her local art gallery, markets and other shops in her area. All I can say is that my Mum is awesome. She taught me how to sew when I was little, she fed and nurtured my, and all my siblings, creative spirits. She taught us that anything we wanted to ‘do’ with our life was ok, as long as we loved it. She is empathetic and compassionate, as we should all aim to be. I can’t tell you how many times in the last 3 months I called her up and just cried. When I thought I was going to lose Maisie. When I thought I was going to lose Daisy. She didn’t have to say anything, just knowing she’s listening and being able to hear her breathing, is all I needed. And yes, now I’m tearing up because I’m horribly homesick and I just want to hang out with my Mum!

Even though Mum did teach me everything I know about sewing, we have very different styles. I cannot stand a crooked or exposed seam, Mum uses both those things artistically. I can definitely say that when Mum sews, she’s creating art. When I sew, I’m just creating. Neither are better or worse, just different.

You could win this naturally dyed treasure purse.

Mum hand dyes vintage fabric with Australia native plants, this purse was dyed with Eucalyptus and rushes, but she uses a variety of plants in her work. The contrasted textures of the wool and the silk feel lovely,and the pink machine stitched highlights make it really special. It has a leaf machine stitched on the front, and rectangles and squares around. The photos don’t do this purse justice, it really is a beautiful piece of art!

To win this prize all you have to do is donate at least $5 on the Raising For Daisy Chipin page. No need to comment (but it’d be nice if you did!), just donate and you’re in the running for this, and all other prizes. ($5 is one entry, $10 is two, and so on.)

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Lily / Jun 19 2011 7:49 am

    That is so sweet of your mum! I love the purse and the fact that she uses natural plant extract to dye her products.

Leave a Reply

